I must admit - in general... I have been slacking on my blog.  So, this post is well over due.

Last month's task (since today is May 1st) for BBHQ was to talk about our inspirations and motivations that drive the content on our blogs.  Those of you that have been following me a while, know that my blog has been my life's journey, the things that I love and are passionate about... My World.  

What Inspires Me to Blog?   After years of writing solely about beauty and having a separate blog for my life... I decided a few years back that I would combine the two together and make my blog more lifestyle oriented.  Everything I write about is inspired by my loves (My husband and sons) and the beautiful things I have had the opportunity in my lifetime to lay my eyes on.  Living in Hawaii and having parents that encouraged me to look at the Beauty in ALL THINGS, allowed me to first stop and look at the World around me - using it's wonders and beauties as my canvas for my writing.  
I have been told many times that writing doesn't come naturally to many people - while it has always been a natural thing for me, since I was very young.  Even if it may not be a natural thing for most - writing about what you know or what makes your feel good is always a sure bet to ensuring you have something to write about.  That's why I include my family on my blog, because they are not only my biggest supporters, but they are the ones that make me feel good about myself.   And, because of them - my writing comes easily.  I always joke with my hubby because sometimes I'll be writing a blog post and stop, turn to him and stare at him for a couple of minutes... completely in a zone.  Even if he always knows the answer to my question... he always asks: "Why are you staring at me?"  My response hasn't changed yet and has been the same for many years... "Because you are my biggest muse and inspire me.  You help bring my thoughts to the forefront of my mind.  You help me write."  

What Blogs do I Read for Inspiration?   If I had to list all of the blogs I turn to for inspiration - we would be here ALL DAY, and let's be honest... I already write long blog posts, so making it that much longer would be insane. lmao.   I do have a few that I truly love to read and can read on a daily basis without missing a day.  I may not comment but know that I am always reading your blogs because they make me feel inspired or just make me smile.

Kandeeland - My Favorite Mommy/Lifestyle Blog.  Many Know Kandee Johnson as a Beauty Guru and Blogger, but she is so much more than that.   While I do follow her Beauty Blog as well - I find that I read her Personal blog much more and enjoy it tremendously.  She reminds me that being a Mother is so much more than diapers and singing songs, but it is about having fun and still keeping a busy lifestyle - which is something I do on a daily basis. 

Beauty by Krystal - Krystal has a blog that I have been reading for sometime now and it is a blog I frequent several times during the week.  I also love to read her Personal Blog as well.  She posts often about discounts and sales and always keeps up to date with the latest nail trends and beauty products.  If you are not following her already - definitely check her out.

Suger Coat It - I love Melissa's Blog.  She is a Plus Sized lovely that shares her fashion passion.  Ironically - we have very similar taste... because I love the Casual type of dress as much as she does.  

What YouTube Channels Inspire Me?  As I mentioned previously, I love reading blogs that are lifestyle based or that focus on a wide variety of things.  But I also have my favorites that I turn to for beauty and fashion.  Here are a few of my favorites I enjoy to watch often.

ItsJudysLife

GossMakeupArtist

BeautyBroadcast - Emilynoel83

Where Else Do You Find Inspiration? 
Living in Paradise surely has its benefits... and I take a lot of inspiration from what surrounds me... Flowers, Sunsets, the Ocean - you name it, it inspires everything I write about.  

I find that when I am  having a writing block, sometimes stepping outside and smelling the air, feeling the warmth of the sun on my face and just seeing all the wonders around me, can help to break any writer's block. 
 
I am also a huge lover of Pinterest and while it doesn't really get my attention as much as I would like, I still turn to it when I'm having a brain blank or writer's block.  Sometimes you never know what you'll find there.  I also LOVE Magazines and take some inspiration from many of my magazine subscriptions.

How do I describe my style of blogging?  How has it changed?  Honestly, I would be lying if I said my blogging style has changed from when I first started, but it really hasn't.  I am pretty lax when I'm writing basic daily blog posts and when it comes to reviews - I like to be very detailed.   It has pretty much been that way since I started blogging so I don't think I have changed it up much.

How do I handle competition from other bloggers?  Wow - this was a curve ball kind of question.  Hmmm.... I have never really thought about that.  I am sure others may think about it and may have problems with it... but honestly, I'm so darn busy - I really don't have the time.  I am always supportive of other bloggers, so long as no one is using my images or content without my approval - I don't really pay attention to anything else.
Share a photo that inspires me!  I'm sure many people have seen the photo of my boys (above/black and white) before as I took this image in 2010 I believe and I have posted it several times.  It is my favorite.  This image inspires me because 1.) These are the little people that drive my success and 2.) It reminds me that life is a Box of Chocolates... sometimes you just have to dig in and take a bite of one, even if you are not sure what it tastes like.  When you are a child, sometimes you don't think about whether or not others will judge you or not like you, you just do as you feel and do what makes you feel good.  

Hope this helped to bring some of you a little inspiration!  Don't forget... Sparkle is NEVER Optional!
xoxo
Honey
Beth Kahn
5/1/2013 12:04:37 pm

Very beautiful. Thank you for sharing!

Reply
5/2/2013 02:37:28 am

Aw, I can't believe I'm in your mentioned bloggers <3 So honored!!! :) I love that your blog is completely YOU, beauty, family, food, style, it feeds all my interests ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.