It's no secret that I have been inspired in one time or another by singers like Billie Holiday, Etta James, Aretha Franklin, Mary Wells, Petula Clark, Skeeter Davis and Doris Day (just to name a few).  The ones named sing some of my most favorite songs and I grew up around listening to their music.  So when I was in search for an iconic look that I could recreate... I thought back to the looks from those common eras.  What stood out to me most was Billie Holiday's flawless, effortless looks.  
To create this look, I knew I had to use a glamorous approach to it.  A simple blend of neutrals with a cat eye and a bold lip is what I knew would be best to pull it off.  Of course, I needed to add some gorgeous florals and some kick ass accessories to complete the look.
My flowers were purchased from a small boutique in Washington DC, I can't remember the name, but they are handmade and absolutely breathtaking.  For my jewelry - I used my simple Pearl necklace from Forever21 and gorgeous White Rose stud earrings set in a gold base from Shoplately(Glint & Gleam $4.00).  Pearls are a timeless piece and give such a look class.  Paired with these very classy studs - you have a winning look no matter how you want to wear them.  
Products used to create the makeup look:

  • Benefit They're Real Mascara & Elizabeth Mott It's So Big Mascara
  • Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette
  • Jordana BOLD Fabuliner
  • Too Faced Shadow Insurance
  • NYX Single Eyeshadow in 
  • Milani Lipstick in Sangria and Fuchsia Lip liner
I hope you enjoyed this inspired look.  While it was simple, it definitely was awesome to be able to put it together.  Please check out the list of products used and don't forget to stop by Shoplately to pick up a pair of earrings or other accessories to complete your look too.



Leave a Reply.