Happy Monday!  It's been a while since I focused on Makeup Kits and how to build your freelance kit... so I figured it would be the best time to start since I'm booking Brides for the upcoming year.  I will be doing a few Quick Tips here on my blog and also will be starting up on my Videos again.  These can be used as a Guide for getting started though I know every circumstance is different and every situation - so you will have to tweak them accordingly.

Quick Tip - Bridal Makeup and Building your kit...

Your makeup kit includes the tools to make magic happen.  It is an investment and it is also how you will represent yourself to your clients.  While I whole-heartily agree that you can find many affordable brands to stock your kit with - I also know that clients are looking to book a Makeup Artist that has quality product.  The better your product, the more you can charge in some cases.   While it is true that the type of products you have does not determine the type of artist you are, it certainly is a reflection of your skill to your clients sometimes.

I use a wide range of products from High End to even drug store.  At one time, I remember when my entire Kit was stocked with nothing but MAC (if this is something you want to do - please please get a Pro Card as it will help with building your kit financially).  While it was awesome to look at, I realized quickly that many of my clients could not wear MAC foundations because it caused them to break out within hours of application.  So I tweaked it and added foundations that are mineral based and my clients love it.  I suggest if you are certified or have a decent portfolio built, definitely invest your time and a little bit of money and sign up for  Pro Memberships.  It will help tremendously with building your kit because you can get products much cheaper.  Just a few companies I am a Pro Member at include:  Motives, Makeup Art Cosmetics (MAC), Camera Ready Cosmetics.   Keep in mind that when you are a working artist, even if you sanitize, your kit items will not last as long as your personal makeup collection, and your kit is ever growing - so you want to make sure that you are investing in it.  It's your business - so you want to treat it as so.   When you make money - invest it back in your business, even if it is just a portion of what you make.

I will be posting a video on how I stocked my kit in the beginning as well as what I currently have in my kit now.  So, stay tuned for that. :)  It will be coming in the next few weeks.  

xoxo
Honey



Leave a Reply.