Let me start off by saying that I always choose the wrong times to try out a new way of doing things.  Case in point - I have made my Famous Homemade Lasagna so.... many times and I almost always use Barilla lasagna ribbons and boil them.  However, this other brand was on sale and so I decided to buy it.  What was so cool about this brand is that you can actually cook it when baking and can eliminate that extra step of boiling the pasta.   It also meant that I had to bake the lasagna just a tad bit longer than I normally do - but I was very impressed with how it came out.  It was delicious, fork tender and it really cut out an extra step in the kitchen for me.  Will I be using this pasta brand again and eliminating this step in the future?  I'm still on the fence about it.  I think that my lasagna comes out much more ooey gooey (as pictured below) if the pasta is pre boiled, but that doesn't mean that I sacrificed flavor profiles or the deliciousness you get regardless. 

I take an extra few steps when making my lasagna which can be a bit more than most people.  While others just add straight ricotta or mozzarella, I mix my ricotta, mozzarella and Parmesan cheese together with an egg and my favorite seasonings and spices.  This makes it creamier and it also holds together in layers a lot more than others.  

Check out my video tutorial below for the step by step on how I create my Famous Homemade Lasagna and feel free to add in your own goodies to make it your own.  I like Ground Turkey because it's healthier, but you can use Ground beef.  I also added Ketchup to supplement more sauce, but I would suggest if you are going to be making as much as I did - to add more sauce, be prepared and use more. I just couldn't get my homemade sauce to defrost quick enough so I was short in that department. lol
Supplies / Ingredients needed:

  • 1 -lb.  ground turkey or ground beef
  • 2-1/2 cups  Shredded Low-Moisture Mozzarella Cheese, divided in half (half for the ricotta mixture, half for the topping)
  • 1 container  (15 oz.)  Part Skim Ricotta Cheese
  • 1/2 cup  Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • 1 - egg, beaten
  • 1 - jar  (24 oz.) spaghetti sauce ( I prefer homemade or use the Safeway, Best Yet or Prego Brand)
  • 1 box - lasagna noodles, uncooked


There are many different sides that you can choose to eat with your gooey lasagna.  My family loves Garlic Bread or they just eat the lasagna just the way it is because it has so many delicious ingredients.  If you are looking for veggies to add to your meal for sides, my favorites are asparagus or spinach.  You can also substitute meat for spinach too and use the same ingredients, just make sure your drain your spinach really well and do not combine it with your sauce - you will layer it as you do everything else.   You can also add parsley to your egg/cheese mixture as well.  I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do and my family does.  Get ready for some yummy dinner delights.  Have a wonderful day.
xoxo
Honey
NNB
12/23/2012 04:38:30 pm

Looks amazing Honey--- I'm doing lasagna for Christmas, per my families request. They are tired of the traditional Christmas dinner...

Reply
Anna A.
12/24/2012 02:36:02 am

Absolutely want to try this recipe out. I've never made my own lasagna before, and this'll be a nice hearty full meal for my in laws as well as for my hubby:) I've never tried it with turkey either, can't wait! Great recipe Honey<3

Reply



Leave a Reply.