First thing is first... I get this question all the time, "What is Poke?"  First of all - it is not pronounced poh-kee (with a long "e") - it is pronounced poh-ke (the "e" sounds almost like you are saying "A".)  Poke is the hawaiian word for "section" or "to slice or cut" which is usually what consists of these concoctions...  different food ingredients cut or sliced up and mixed together. 

This particular Poke can be called by a couple of names - but most of them are similar... here are some of them:  Spicy Ahi Tuna Poke, Spicy Ahi Poke and Spicy Tuna Poke.  And, when in Hawaii or at a Sushi restaurant, the server or sushi bar attendant should know what you are referring to. 

In this tutorial I am going to teach you my version of the Spicy Ahi Tuna Poke.  I make mine a little different than what you find in the restaurants, but it certainly tastes the same - even better in my opinion.  I use Tobasco instead of Wasabi Oil - not only because it is much more affordable, it is also kid friendly and my children enjoy it.  The Wasabi Oil can be a bit spicy and hard for a young one to consume without burning their taste buds.  

Here are the ingredients needed:

  • 1-2 lbs Ahi Cubes (Yellowfin Tuna) You can either buy the cubes from your local fish market already cleaned and cubed or you can purchase the slabs or the whole fish.  Cleaning the fish can be done by your local fish market if they offer that.  If you get the slabs - just cut them in about 1/2 - 3/4 inch cubes. If fresh ahi slabs are available at my local grocer or fish market at a reasonable / affordable cost - I rather buy those and then cut them myself... but the frozen kind work just as well and they are already cut. 
  • 1 1/2 cups Mayonnaise - it depends on the amount of fish you have.  Follow my video to see the exact amount (which I always eyeball or do by feeling anyway. lol)
  • Sesame Seed Oil - you can find this in your asian / ethnic food section of your grocery market.
  • Hawaiian Rock Salt - I prefer Hawaiian Rock Salt, but if you don't have that available, any type of rock salt will do. Use this according to your taste - but you can use my video for a guide.
  • Misago or Tobiko (Small Orange Fish eggs) - while it may seem a little weird or unusual to you, this is what makes that pop in your mouth and adds to extra flavor.  If you can't find it at your fish market - try asking your local Sushi Restaurant or Bar if they know where you could find some.
  • Green Onion - I used 3 green onions sprigs.
  • Round sweet white onion - I did not use this in my tutorial because they were not available to me at a reasonable cost and my family doesn't mind I leave it out.  You can add it or omit it.  You can also add Onion powder if you want in place of it if you want that flavor.
  • Tobasco or Wasabi Oil - you will use this ingredient to taste.  I like Tobasco because my children like it and it is not as hot. Plus the smokey flavor of the tobasco give it an extra added flavor.  If you choose Wasabi oil - be sure to add a little at a time because this is so much hotter than regular Wasabi. Taste along the way to make sure you like the flavor.  Some people say that they use a Chili Sauce like Saracha Hot sauce to make their spicy sauce.  You can add that too if you want when you are making your sushi roll.
  • Nori or Seaweed Wrap - if you are planning to make this into a Sushi Roll like I did towards the end of the video, you will need these Seaweed Sheets. You can find this in the ethnic section of your grocery store or asian food store.
  • White Sticky Rice / or Brown Sticky Rice - again, if you are making a sushi roll, you will need sticky rice.  I used Jasmine rice... it must be sticky or it will not hold together.
  • Sushi No Tomo (Sushi Vinegar) - you don't need this, I use it for a little extra flavor.

Watch the video tutorial below for the step by step and a general idea of how much I use of each ingredient.  If you try it - let me know, I would love to know how you like it and how it came out.  Thanks so much for joining me on another cooking adventure.

xoxo
Honey



Leave a Reply.