Yesterday (Sunday), my YouTube Channel made 5 years old... I've been doing reviews via my blog even longer than that.  So when people ask me... "How do you get free products to review?" I truly cannot give you a complete answer because I think it can be different for everyone, however... I can tell you what has happened with me and how I got where I am today.  

First, there are many people who start off contacting companies - I didn't even know that existed till a friend of mine did a video last year explaining what she did.  Before then, I was always under the assumption that companies contacted Bloggers/YouTubers to work with.  When I first started reviewing products, back in 2007 - I was contacted by a PR agency that wanted to work with me, because the product I had reviewed (which I paid for out of my own pocket) was a product that they did PR work for.  That was the first company that I worked with that provided me free product in exchange for my reviews.  

If you have been following my YouTube Channel / Blog you will see that while companies do send me products, I also review products I buy out of my own pocket.  It allows me to establish my review base and show how truthful and honest I am.   It also allows me to provide information to other consumers so they can decide whether or not that is a product they may want to buy (the same reason for reviewing free products).  As a consumer, before I buy a certain makeup brands, etc. - I will research that brand or product like a crazy lady... searching blogs and youtube videos to ensure that I am spending my money wisely and not wasting it on something I shouldn't buy.  For that reason, I want to provide the same type of insight for my readers, viewers and those just searching for more info.  It allows us as consumers to really think about our purchases... let's be honest, money technically... doesn't grow on trees.  I never look at reviews (sponsored or not) as just getting free product and I think that there are honestly too many people out there that look at it in this light - which then gives other reviewers, like myself a bad name.  When, my ultimate goal is to allow other consumers to find products they may or may not like before paying the money for it.

As a business owner, in the last 2 years I have had many people (on average at least 2 a day) contact me asking to review my products.  I have built awesome relationships with many of them - those that enjoy what they do and review because their ultimate goal is to assist the company in growing a fan/client base and then you also meet those that are always out to get free product and / or provide biased and untruthful reviews because they are being spiteful for any such reason.  It is sad that bloggers like myself who actually take what we do seriously and passionately can sometimes be associated with people who wind up providing bad reputations because they are untruthful or just seeking free stuff.

So - now... on to what I suggest you do to become a recognized blogger so companies will want to work with you.  

  1. Establish your blog/YouTube channel.  If that means you have to buy products to review, then do it - it will showcase your writing style, your honesty and so much more.  I love looking at blogs/youtube channels when I receive applications for sponsorship/reviews for my own business.  Established channels/blogs are the ones I really like the best.  While I do offer sponsorship to those just building their channels, etc. - I am now much more leery in allowing so and now do not do it very often.
  2. Some companies offer a Blogger / YouTuber Program... while they may not offer you free product - when you buy from them, they may want to feature your review on their Website, Facebook Page, etc.  So when you purchase an item (i.e. Makeup) check to see if they would like to read your review on the products.  This will give them the opportunity to improve their business from an unbiased standpoint and they may contact you in the future to do a sponsored review.  Also - Keep your eyes open for links on sites that say: Blogger/YouTuber Program or Sponsorship Program and if you feel you are ready, apply and see if you qualify.
  3. When writing your reviews... be honest & truthful.  I am so tired of reading reviews from others that say one thing (i.e. The product was junk) but when you look at others, you see that they truthfully did enjoy the product.  Now - don't get me wrong, some products may not fit/mesh well with other people, but you can tell the reviews where the person only wanted to bash on the product for one reason or the other and their review was completely biased or not honest.  Be Honest!  This is your name on the line and as a business owner, people who do things like that to me will never get another opportunity to work with me and I'll be sure to let other companies I work with know as well.  You never know how many companies use the same PR agency and they will automatically refuse you in a heartbeat.  While I am always down for constructive criticism when it comes to my business, there is a big difference between constructive criticism / honesty and just plain bashing.  
  4. If you encounter a product you do not like, mention it to the company before writing your review.  Some of them would like the opportunity to correct the problem if there is one and others would like to know before hand so that they can assist with your use, etc.   Again - like I said... some people just may not like a product and they are being truthful about it... but most companies can tell the difference, I surely know I can.  So - bring it up to the company should you not like a certain color or size or whatever the object may be and give them the opportunity to explain the objects use (maybe you may not be doing it correctly) or to fix the problem.  The worst they could say is "I'm sorry - there's nothing I can do for you" and then you'll know how to proceed in your review.

At the end of the day - everyone reviews products differently and obtains products differently.  The most important thing to do is to ensure that you are being honest - remember, you are building your blog/youtube channel and by starting off on the wrong foot - you will easily put your name out there in negative light.  The reason I have been doing this for so long is because I'm honest about what I do and it allows me to build lasting relationships with the brands I have worked with in the past.   Remember... you are building your name, so sometimes, thinking of blogging as a job (which I also do) may help you do a review that will be polished and provide information - even if you did not like the product itself.  

I hope this helped out some bit for those looking to start reviewing for companies and those that may already be reviewing but are not sure how to go about moving forward.  Wishing you all the best of luck

Honey



Leave a Reply.