If you know a little about me, then you will know that I am a sucker for red lips.  Red lips offer a certain glam and sex appeal without overdoing it.  The Holiday season is also my favorite time of year to rock out a red pout.  Fall and Winter months truly are my go-to time of year to strut my stuff in a luscious Candy Apple Red Lip.
Picture
Now, if you take a peek into my makeup collection I have over 25 different red lipsticks and lip shades.  Overkill?  Maybe!  But, I have a wide range of lip colors to suit all seasons and styles.  When I first received BA STAR's Holiday Red lip pencil in the mail, at first glance it has a kind of gold metallic sheen to the pencil.   I had wondered how that would transfer color wise on my lips and wasn't sure if my lips would look metallic or not.  After swatching it on my hand, I noticed that there was no gold sheen transfer and that the red color was just a bold red tone in a matte/gloss form.  There was no shimmer, no metallic or no glitter - it had a light glossy look but was completely matte in tone.  I couldn't not wait to get my lips covered in this gorgeous red shade and immediately put it on and tried it out.
Picture
BA Star's Holiday Red lip pencil ($8.75USD) is definitely... The Business.  It offers you full color payoff and coverage in just one swipe and application was definitely a breeze since the pencil allowed you to both line your lips as well as apply the color.  Like a lot of red lipsticks and lip colors on the market, it did offer a nice stain, so it did give me at least 6-8 hours of wear with minimal reapplying.  It is not kiss proof and I did lose some color with some fading, but it was nice to know that I wasn't going to have red lipstick all over the place.  Some of it did transfer onto my straws and glass as well as onto my husband but I was still amazed with the color payoff that was left behind on my lips.  This lip pencil is more on the matte side (though it has a soft gloss to it) so if you want glossy lips, be sure to add lip gloss or glaze over for that extra "show stopping" appeal.  To sharpen, you must use a dual sided sharpener, one that can sharpen a larger pencil.  This gorgeous lip shade is the perfect "Runway" Red.

The product includes the following ingredients: 
  • Isopolybutene, Castor Oil, Ozokenite, Carnuaba, Candellina Wax, Beeswax, Petrolium, Buty Stearate, Cetyk Ricinoleate, Vitamin E, Precpylparaben, Metabylparaben, BHT, Macadamia Nut Oil, Octyl Palmiate
  • May Contain: Iron Oxides, Ti02,D&C Red 27 D&C Red 30 D&C Red 28
Picture
Picture
Now - I ranted and raved about the awesome color and pigmentation of this color, but didn't talk about how moisturizing it is.  Being that it lends towards a more matte lip shade, I expected it to be a bit on the drying site, as most matte lip colors are.  I was very impressed with how moisturized my lips felt, even after several hours of use and a few reapplications here and there.  I have been using this red pencil on it's own, without a base and just my normal lip balm beneath it and I just love how it feels on my lips.  When I first applied it, I thought I felt a slight tingling sensation on my lips initially, but after using the lip pencil on several different occasions, I guess that it was just me because I didn't feel it again.  After application and removing the color, I had expected that my lips would feel a little dry - but that was not the case.  This is definitely a great color for long wear since it keeps your lips reasonably hydrated and it's not drying.
Picture
Now, not all reds work well on all skin tones.  I know this personally, but I have also assisted many with pairing their skin tone with the right color that works for them.  This red pencil is definitely a great color for most skin tones.  For lighter complexions, since it is a bright true red, it will definitely lend for "Snow White" status, bringing out the porcelain look in the skin tone and for darker tones like myself, this is a perfect red to use because it doesn't have orange undertones or overly blue undertones that will make it difficult for some people to wear.  I have to say - I'm impressed with BA Stars Holiday Red lip pencil.  This is a glam color at its finest and lends to be such an awesome shade to use year round.
Picture
Picture
BA Star has graciously offered a special discount for my readers / viewers.  Get 50% off of your purchase of a gorgeous lippy pencil.   This discount cannot be combined with any other offer and can be used towards the FULL RETAIL price only.  Use code: BBLIPS to receive your discount!
To get this product and so much more, head on over to...
"Strut your stuff on stage, on the runway or at play! BA STAR is the 
#1 makeup for performers, dancers, & cheerleaders." - BA STAR
Picture
SPONSORED POST - This product was provided to me by BA STAR, Powered by Brandbacker for review.  
10/31/2013 06:11:55 am

I LOVE THIS LIPPIE!!! I'm ordering more because I love non-drying it is!

Reply



Leave a Reply.