It seems like only yesterday my eldest son was coming home from the hospital.  It's just hours from 12am - when he will be turning 9 years old.  I can't believe how fast the time has gone by.  As I reminisce and look at all the photos of the last 9 years, I may not finish this blog post before midnight. lol

On January 26, 2004 - our eldest son: Kevin Ka'eo'okamalei'okahonuakamakaniamekekai Kaho'ohanohano was born.  He came into this world at 11:53 pm and weighed just over 7 lbs.  I was almost a month over due and I had to be induced that day.  My husband and I arrived at the hospital at 7am only to be told to come back at 11:00am because they didn't have any beds.  At 11am we came back to the hospital (before it had Valet) and was checked in.  They gave me medicine to induce me and I was in labor the next 12 hours.  Unlike the twins, my labor with Ka'eo was difficult, but that didn't change the fact that our first born was on his way.  We were certainly proud parents. :)
Ka'eo was a totally easy going kiddo.  I went back to work 2 months later (after giving birth) because I had been out a month earlier as doctor had me on bed rest.  He spent his mornings with my parents and then Daddy picked him up and they spent the afternoon together until I came home from work.  The first 4 years of his life, I spent working long hours and I am so thankful to be home and see my children grow up now.  

We have had so much fun together the last 9 years.  From tons of pictures to Disney World and even meeting President Obama.  It has definitely been a whirlwind of memories.
My little boy is no longer little.  He's catching up with me in height... and is excelling in school.  He has been math master 3 years in a row now and he takes time out of his day to spend time with Autistic kids.  The last few years he has given up his Winter, Spring and Summer breaks to spend time with kids that don't normally have friends or have a difficult time making friends because of their special needs.  I'm proud of my son and proud that he is such an inspiring older brother for his siblings.  

He has gone from totally curly long hair to straight hair.  We have cut it so many times and now it's completely straight and grows out just as quickly as it did when he was younger. lol  He loves Video Games, Legos, playing with his brothers and building things.  He especially loves learning all kinds of things about science and bugs and loves animals.
I can't believe how fast time has gone by.  He loves being active and enjoys spending time with his family.  Just last month we took the kids to the Maui Sports Park for the Hubby's birthday and he scaled that Rock Climbing wall with little to no effort and this was his first time doing so.   We are so proud of him and continue to be.
Happy Birthday to my wonderful baby boy - who is not a baby anymore... but he will always be that to me.
Mommy and Daddy are so proud of you and proud of the person you are growing up to be.  You are a huge inspiration - not only to your brothers, but to mommy and daddy too.  I am so lucky that God has given you to us and so happy to have such a wonderful joy in my life.

May God bless you, keep you and guide you on your path to all things wonderful. 
We love you always!
xoxo



Leave a Reply.