I had been planning to do this type of look for several month now, gathering supplies that I thought would be awesome for this look.  I really wanted to focus my Halloween looks this year on things that are whimsical and enchanting and being from Hawaii where the oceans are blue and pristine, I thought a mermaid would be a perfect choice.  I have always been intrigued by Fairies and Mermaids my entire life... so since I am doing a Pixie/Mermaid Tutorial, I thought this was the perfect fit.   I was super stoked to also get some awesome Contacts from Candycolorlenses.com.  The contacts I am using are the Azalea Green contacts.  They are gorgeous and while the camera didn't quite pick it up - they have beautiful little designs of flowers in them, beautiful.  You can get some awesome Crazy lenses for your Halloween looks at Candycolorlenses.com - use Code: DESTNE146 at checkout on your order of $20 or more and receive a 10% discount.
Picture
Products Used:
Primer / Bases - Coastal Scents Primer and NYX Jumbo Eye Shadow Base in Milk.  Maybelline Color Tattoo in Tenacious Teal

Shadows:
I-Candy Couture Eye Shadows in the following colors - 
Mermaid Serenade
Just Keep Swimming
To Infinity
Forest Love
Colors of the Wind
Epik
Happy Thoughts

Eyeliner / Pencil liners:  ELF Liquid Liner (lash line), NYC pencil liner in Teal, Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Mildew, Milani Liquif'eye Pencil in Black

Glitter Liners from NYX - Green, Blue and Purple

Mascara - Maybelline Plush Lash Mascara

Lashes - Red Cherry Lashes, sorry - I threw away the packaging and forgot what number it was :(

The Blue jewel was from a pack of assorted jewels with adhesive on the back from Walmart's craft section.

Lipstick:  Ooh Baby! from I-Candy Couture

Although that part cut out in the video, I wanted to state that I went back in and blended out the glitter so it wasn't harsh dots but had a nice glitter affect.  I also pulled the fish net back over my head and dabbed in some NYX White Eye Shadow base and over that I went with I-Candy Couture's Eye Shadow in Happy Thoughts.  Happy Thoughts is a duo chrome iridescent and has purple and pink iridescent when used over a white or black base, so I thought this was perfect to make the scales look more like scales and to bring out the pretty look that fish have.  If any of you have read the book "Rainbow Fish" to your children, you know what I'm talking about. :)  I also blended out the NYX glitter that I applied as dots - not on purpose though - it was a mistake.  I pulled the fish net stocking back over my head and it smeared... but I like the effect it gave. It looked a lot more natural.  

I hope you guys like the tutorial.  I posted more photos so you could see. I Chroma-keyed in an ocean background for an added twist and added a beautiful Plumeria to my ear.  Since I'm from Hawaii and it was a Hawaiian mermaid look - I figured, what more says a Hawaiian Maiden like a pua (flower) in the ear.  Enjoy and thank you for watching and reading!  Video tutorial is below.
xoxo
Honey
9/5/2013 08:41:39 pm

I like the make up you have done....the mermaid look suits your personality.

Reply
Honey
9/6/2013 06:03:05 am

thank you ;)

Reply



Leave a Reply.