Last night for dinner (pictured on the left above), I combined my homemade Alfredo Sauce (minus the cream cheese), which you can find here along with my homemade Pesto (pictured above on the Right).  I was asked several times for the recipe, but realized I did not have it - so instead of doing a recipe on my Alfredo/Pesto, I figured I would share the Alfredo recipe and then add my Pesto recipe and you can combine them together.  

So - here is my Pesto recipe, Enjoy!

Ingredients / Supplies needed:
  • About 3 Tablespoons of chopped/minced garlic (about 9 cloves if using fresh)
  • 6 cups Fresh basil leaves - make sure you are packing them into the cups
  • Kosher Salt or Garlic Salt & Pepper - I like to add these to taste, but on average you are using approximately 1 Teaspoon.  
  • Great Quality Olive Oil - I will use approximately 1 3/4 cup
  • 1 cup fo freshly grated Parmesan cheese - if you don't have fresh, use deli parmesan cheese, it will make all the difference, compared to the regular bag cheese you get in the store.
  • About 1/4 - 1/2 cup pine nuts
  • If you are looking for a little extra crunch... you can add in Walnuts.  About 1/4 of a cup.
  • You can also opt in to add a tad bit of nutmeg - just a pinch for some added flavor.

Directions and what to do:
  • Pull out your food processor or magic bullet.  I use my Ninja.
  • Place the Nuts of your choice and garlic into the food processor bowl / unit.  If you want a little bit of extra nuttiness, you can opt to use both pine nuts and walnuts.  I omit the walnuts because I've been allergic to them most of my life - while I am no longer allergic, I'm a creature of habit.
  •  Process for 30 seconds.
  • Stop the processor and add in your basil leaves and seasoning (salt & pepper).
  • Then turn on processor and while running slowly pour in your olive oil.  If you have a Ninja or bullet like I do.  I like to put in a little bit of the oil, process for a second and then consistently stopping and adding in the oil.  It can be a pain in the butt, but it works the same.  If I'm using my Food Processor, I will add through the tube a little at a time while processor is on.
  • Continue until the pesto is a nice puree, everything will be well combined and fine.
  • Add the parmesan and puree again, about a minute.
  • You can serve cold or warm over pasta or use as a dip
  • Store your pesto in the fridge or freezer - but make sure that you put a drizzle of olive oil on top so there is a thin layer on the top.  (It will not only help in preservation, but keep it nice and smooth (got that tip on Food network. lol)



If you use or share this recipe, please be sure to link back to my post and give credit. 


To make the homemade Alfredo / Pesto Sauce, simply make your Alfredo Sauce and then as it comes to the point just before serving, scoop in approximately 1/2 cup of the homemade Pesto.  Stir until combined and serve with your favorite pasta.  You can easily feed a family of 5 with the recipes provided. 




Leave a Reply.