I'm still contemplating doing a Video on this topic - but it's always faster for me to type than it is to film, edit and upload - so if I decide I will film the video, I'll insert it into this post.   Most of you know that I am a mother of 3 boys.  My eldest is 9 and my twins are 3.  The last several years have definitely been interesting - but as a mother, I'm thankful that I always have my children right by my side.  

I have been asked many many times from friends as well as fellow bloggers and YouTubers if it is normal to feel weird or inadequate after having children.  Many of these lovely mothers felt as if they no longer were invited to "Girlie" hang outs, parties or Girls Night Out Dates any longer because now they are married and/or with children.  While it may feel weird, uncomfortable and very uneasy sometimes, rest assured that this is truly a normal way to feel.  You will especially notice the difference if the friends you once hung out with do not have a Spouse or children.  When I first started noticing this - I was a little freaked out myself... but in all honesty - as long as my husband still wanted to spend time with me, it didn't bother me much.  I did however notice that it was happening.   It's not a bad thing at all but will definitely take some getting used to.  That's what really drew me into starting my blog and youtube videos.  It gave me the opportunity to meet new people and to make friends in a different type of setting.  It was nice to touch base with mommies out there that had the same feelings of abandonment.  And, there are a ton of us out there. 
As we grow in life and go on our journeys, our life definitely does change.  While many of us still continue to be friends with our childhood buddies, we certainly become, or shall I say - Evolve... into different individuals.  Our priorities change and if you are a mother and wife you know that your life no longer revolves around what it once did when you were in High School.  

A few simple tips to help you through this odd time...

1.) If you need a friend, reach out to other Mommies and Wives.  Talk with them and ask them if your experiences are the same as theirs, I trust that you will have similar  ones.  This new mommy/wife friend of yours will truly be a great person to friend.  Check out Facebook Groups, Blogger Groups and so much more and talk with some of the other mommies out there.  You will surely make a friend with a similar outlook.

2.) If you haven't started in the lovely world of blogging, try and give it a whirl.  While you are not necessarily talking with someone else, your thoughts and encouragement can reach millions and you will surely have something to keep you busy and will make new friends. 

3.)  Last but not least, know that this awkward stage you may be going through is not unusual and you are not abnormal.  Often times our conversations change from: "Ooh - that dress is super hot for my date next week!" to "I need to find a changing table or a changing room for my baby!".  Life goes on and just because our Childless or unmarried friends may not understand the new "us" - it doesn't mean that they don't love us any longer... it just means our priorities in life have changed.  While Motherhood keeps us busy and we may need some "girlfriend" time - we just need to accept that sometimes our circles may change a little too.  It's okay and it's nothing to worry about.  Let your childless and husbandless girlfriends know you still love them and would love the opportunity to hang out again... because your friendship doesn't end, your life just evolves.

Wishing you a lifetime of Happy Mommy and Wifey Memories!
xoxo
Honey


I hope this helped out a little for all of you lovelies.  I am in no way a Doctor or professional and this information provided is due to my own experiences.  I am not liable for any information taken out of context.



Leave a Reply.