I have recently had the opportunity to rent "The Help" on DVD via Redbox the other day.  My little sister has been telling me for a few months now that I really need to watch it.  Let me start by saying that movies like this always put a spark under my butt and get my gears turning.  It is an emotional movie drama filled with a few tidbits of funny but definitely something I think should be a part of any DVD / Movie Collection.
It's stars Emma Stone, known for her role in Easy A.  She is an aspiring author who right in the middle of the civil rights movement in the 1960s decides that she wants to write a book that details the African American maids' point of view on the white families that they work for, the hardships they may go through and the ups and downs of their daily lives. 

I think this particular movie hits home for me because I try so hard to teach my children that you treat everyone equally regardless of the color of their skin, their ethnicity or their social standing.  Having been a child of the 80's - most of the segregation through out the US had no longer been in effect - though some small towns and states may have still practiced Racism.  I am pretty lucky that in the most part, I live in a State where there are so many nationalities - it usually was not an issue.  Though I'm not saying that I have never experienced it, it was not nearly as bad.

All in all - I would recommend this movie to anyone.  It does have a little funny sarcasm in it from time to time but it is truly just a way of teaching each other to get along regardless of the color of our skin or what society tells us.  We are our own mind.

My Rating:  5 Stars



Leave a Reply.