I was absolutely excited when I got an email from Ipsy that I was selected as one of the 1200 that were selected to be Lash Bash Hostesses.  Let me just say that I couldn't believe my eyes and was excited and very honored.  I went to work straight away and started planning what I wanted to do for this awesome event.  
Those that were selected as hostesses were able to invite 9 friends to a party and Benefit sent over a number of goodies for you as the hostess as well as gift swag bags for your 9 friends that were attending.  I had an idea as to what my guests would be receiving... obviously, I was excited for that - because Benefit's They're Real Mascara is one of my all time favorites - major #holygrail status.

When the box arrived, I couldn't believe all the goodies that were included.  Here is what I got:

10 - Deluxe Samples of they're Real! Mascara
10 - Deluxe samples of benetint cheek and lip stain
10 - Deluxe samples of sugarbomb ultra plush lip gloss
10 - Benefit cosmetic gift bags and promotional offers 
1 - #realsies Instagram frame
1 - Full size They're Real mascara and limted edition they're real makeup bag
1 Set of Lash bash napkins
1 Set of full-size makeup testers including: 
  • Peek-a-bright eyes kit,
  • bikini-tini and bronze have more fun creaseless cream shadows
  • hervana face powder
  • gimme brow (in 2 different shades)
Setting up for the party was easy.  I wanted it to be chic and very feminine but I since I knew I would be doing the set up and break down, I also wanted it to be easy for me to put together.  All in all - I thought it was not only a fun time with my girls, but definitely a great day and party.
On the menu for the lash bash was Sweet Simplicity.  I had a much more extravagant menu planned out that included my favorite smoked salmon and cream cheese topped on quinoa crackers, my homemade spinach dip and chips and sun dried tomatoes and mozzarella topped on french baguettes, but with the weather change and the change in time of the event... I decided it was just too heavy for the time of day since most people would have had lunch prior to coming by.  I'm glad I changed it, because everyone came to the party with pretty full tummies having just had lunch an hour before.  What I did have or decide on was sweet treats that were light and easy to eat, but that would really be fun. 

The menu included:

Shortbread cookies with candy sprinkles
Salted Caramel Gelato
Cappuccino Gelato
Sweet candies like tootsie rolls and lollipops

and to hydrate... I decided that water was the best thing to serve.  This was important to me, especially since my loved ones were traveling to my house which is a good 30 minute drive out of town.  I did not want anyone drinking and then driving home.  While I thought about sweet drinks like apple cider - I decided that water would be great since it is my everyday and favorite beverage. :)

That's it - super simple and not only easy to clean up, but it made it easy for everyone to mingle and just really have awesome bonding and girlfriend time, talking story and catching up.

To the right of the cookies and where they were set up - there is a freezer/cooler so I was able to keep and hold my Gelato in there and put it out at the last minute (since Gelato tends to melt faster than regular ice cream) and put it back to keep it frozen when it was not in use.  Thank goodness for that because it started off as a over cast drizzly type of day and then the sun came out just as the party began and it got really hot, really fast. 
I had a few games planned... one of my favorites being the "Purse Scavenger Hunt."  I seem to always be the winner at other parties when that game is played, but we all know I practically carry a suit case around with me - ROFL.  But, since we were so caught up talking about makeup and just catching up with one another, we completely forgot about the games.  So - the prizes I had set out ended up being a part of their "Swag bags".  The prizes I had included:  imPRESS nails in different designs, Freeman Purifying Masks - regular and the new paper masks that I just recently was able to try through Ipsy, Sinful Colors Nail Polishes (I can't believe I didn't take a photo of the prize table I had laid out behind me while I was taking the photos) and little gifts here and there to include some ELF eye shadow brushes and ELF eye primer and Quads.  After having a very very busy day - I now realize why people hire photographers (like myself) to take photos at parties and events... because you get so caught up when the guests arrive, you tend to forget to take pictures of all the little details.
My Lash Bash Party Swag Bags included:

  • Benefit They're Real Mascara - Deluxe Sample Size
  • Benefit Benetint - Deluxe Sample Size
  • Benefit Sugar Bomb Lip gloss - Deluxe Sample Size
  • HoneyXO Eye Shadows - each guest receive 3 shadows in random colors.  They were placed in clamshell jars.
  • HoneyXO lipsticks and lip glosses to include - Hula Girl, Berry Smoothie and Bite Me
  • Yummy Handmade Lollipop - here in Hawaii, Li Hing Mui lollipops are very popular and delicious and I handmade those and put one in each bag.
  • Each girl also went home with a Daisy that I made for them in different prints and shades from Pink, White, Black, Brown, Leopard Print and Zebra Print.
I had a total of 6 guests because 3 of my besties do not live near me, so they were with me in spirit and I will be mailing their swag bags to them.  I also had in attendance my sisters and a few friends.  Unfortunately, no one was very eager to take photos and did not want to be on camera :( but I was able to convince my little sissy to have her photo taken.  She is such a trooper.  
After all the sweet treats were eaten, we took out the makeup to have some fun.  Since most of those that were in attendance did not really put makeup on often, this was a great opportunity for me to teach them basic eye makeup techniques.  I gave them all easy tips on applying a wash of color on their lid and blending in a contour color into their crease and blend the colors out to create a beautifully transitioned and blended look.  They really enjoyed this and we all had a ton of fun watching one another try out different colors.  I really felt like I was in my own element and we all had such a blast.
Be sure to keep your eyes open because I'll be giving away a Lash Bash Swag bag filled with a They're Real Mascara, Benefit Benetint and Benefit Sugarbomb gloss in the next 2 weeks or so. ;)



Leave a Reply.