First things first... let me start off by saving this because I just finished typing out a very lengthy post to complete the November Task and it magically disappeared.  I hate when that happens, but it definitely does happen and you just gotta take it in stride. lol

So - now onto the actual post.  Have you ever heard of the Beauty Blogger Headquarters? It's this awesome Blog/Website where Beauty Bloggers can exchange tips and tricks and all kinds of awesome things we love to do and read about.  I heard about it on Facebook from one of my fellow Bloggers Beauty by Krystal.  It's a cool hang out and a great place to learn more about the bloggers we love so much.  I am super excited for it to evolve... because those that know me, know I love community based things and since this is not like YouTube, I think it will lack some of the drama that YouTube can produce.
So the task for November for the Bloggers is... In the Beginning.  Basically - it involves questions about how we got our start as a Beauty Blogger.  I thought it would be fun to take part in it and join in on the community. :)  Here are the questions and my responses.

  • How long have you been blogging?

I started blogging in 2007 - while I didn't do it very actively in the beginning - I'm doing my best to blog daily (trust me - I do fail in that department often. lol) 
  • What/who inspired you to start blogging?

I actually started blogging without much inspiration or  knowing where to begin or what to do.  I used it as my outlet since I am the only female in my house (I have all sons and of course my husband).  Writing my blog allowed me to talk about girlie things without the men in my life getting bored. lol  Over the years I have definitely found some awesome bloggers and some that have inspired me are Kandee Johnson and Marlena from MakeupGeek.
  • Did you tell your family and friends about your blog? If so, what was their reaction? Are they supportive or "in the dark" about your blogging?

I told my husband about it when I first started... mainly because I had thought he would wonder why I spent time on the computer typing consistently. lol  He has always been my biggest supporter and he thought it was a pretty cool idea.  When I told other family members about my blog - I got a lot of questions and comments asking me "Why I wanted to waste my time?"  But as Social Media began to flourish even more, I think those that had doubts started to realize that many of them turn to blogs for their favorite recipes and DIY's.  Now it's not really an issue.
  • What goals or dreams did you have for your blog when you started? Have you accomplished them?

I think in the beginning - my goal/dream or maybe hope was that when I started writing people would actually read what I wrote and that it would help or inspire those that were reading my posts.  I think that is most bloggers goals.  After blogging for 5 years - I can honestly say that Yes, my Goals were definitely accomplished.  I get messages and comments (while my comments on my blog are not that popular) on my Facebook and email from people thanking me for my posts and for writing about certain subjects.  I do wish my comments would be on my blog more - but still, at least my readers are active and keep me informed and let me know if what I write is important to them.
  • If you could give your beginner-blogger-self one tip of advice, what would it be?

Be Yourself and write about what ever it is that you are passionate about.  I look at my blog as my journal, my diary into my life and all things I love.  But, honestly - I didn't look at it that way when I first started.  My blog started off as this odd online site that I couldn't figure out and didn't know what to post about.  After about 2 years and many different layouts, names, etc. - I realized that my earlier posts were forced, because I felt like I had to write about that certain subject or product... "because everyone was doing it".  I found out later through trial and error, that most people just want to read about anything that they may be interested in.  At the end of the day - you write about what ever it is that makes you happy.
  • What is your favorite and least favorite thing about being a blogger?

I love that Blogging seems a lot more Drama Free then YouTube.  Don't get me wrong - I love YouTube and have been doing that for many years too... but I always feel like I get stuck in the middle of something.  With my blog - I feel like my opinion is my own and I don't have to worry about influences of those around me.  I can be honest and truthful.  The community within the Bloggers is a lot more open to just doing your own... where as in YouTube, I feel like I have to be a certain someone or look a certain way for anyone to take me seriously.  The least thing I like about being a blogger... when I think of something - I'll be sure to let you know ;)
  • What does your blog name mean? How did you decide on it?

My first and original blog was initially titled "Beauty by Honey" and I blogged mostly about beauty things - makeup, etc.  After the years had gone by - I realized that I wanted my blog to be about me and my life in general... I wanted it to be more about my Life and my lifestyle than just about beauty (though beauty does consist of most of it).  So - what better name than:  Honeygirlsworld.  A site that's all about the people and things I love and are most passionate about. <3

On a Side note...  If you are looking to start your own blog - Good luck and wishing you all the best.  It can be a little intimidating at first, but trust me - it's definitely worth the climb.  It's my outlet and my journal and thoughts into my life.  
11/6/2012 09:31:16 am

That's so true that there is much less drama when it comes to blogging. When I read through the comments on youtube, I'm shocked that people do not care to show how ugly and disrespectful they are.

Reply



Leave a Reply.