While out shopping a few months ago at my local CVS Store (we call it Longs Drugs here) I came across these Lip Balms in the NYX Display.  Our local CVS store has an awesome NYX display and you can normally find every NYX product there.  So, I was very excited to try these out seeing as I have not seen them anywhere else prior to this.
PRODUCT NOTE:  
I have searched NYX's Website as well as a few other sites and have not seen these anywhere except for Cherryculture.com ($3.00).  I do not know if NYX has discontinued these but they are still available at some CVS locations and they were recently stocked in my area.
I paid about $3.99 for each one - which in my opinion is a little more costly than I would like to spend for such a little amount of product and packaging that is pretty basic, but I was willing to do so to try out a product from one of my favorite drug store brands. 
Picture
I only purchased two shades:  Spasibo (neutral color) and Xie Xie (pinkish red tone).  Both of them to me are pretty universal shades so it is easy for me to use all the time and not be so selective. 
Picture
Xie Xie NYX COLOR Lip Balm
Picture
Xie Xie is a Strawberry type color but soft on the strawberry, as if you mixed a creme into it.  I like it because even if it can be a bright color - it is still very wearable for all day every day use.
Picture
Spasibo NYX COLOR Lip Balm
Picture
Spacibo is very nude on me, as you can see from the swatch above, but it shows up on my lips nicely and looks like a nice nude lipstick.

These Lip Balms, while moisturizing only have a color/tint and moisturizing capabilities.  They are not known or possess gloss type capabilities and if you are looking for a glossy look, you may have to apply actual clear gloss over them.  While they did moisturize my lips, it was not something long term and application to remoisturize was definitely required.  I also noticed that a day or so later... my lips felt dry even if exfoliated and moisturized with my normal routine.

These lip balms do move more than what I am used to.  When you eat or drink or if you like to lick or lips, etc. - you can expect it to smear.  I think these may have a tad bit too much mineral oil in them and if you are one like me that are not huge on that - this may not appeal to you.

All in all - I liked these products... they were pretty okay but I still think they could use some work considering they are NYX products and haven't held up to the brand standard.  I do think they are just too expensive in my local stores and while I do get that they need to keep with the cost of living... it is not worth it.  I will not be purchasing anymore unless they are on discount.

Sparkle rating... 3.7 - 4.0  - probably more towards 3.7

Hope you guys enjoyed this review.
xoxo
Honey



Leave a Reply.