So - I get a ton of questions about my hair and how come I change it up so frequently.  First - I'll start off by saying that genetically... I'm kind of destined for the gray hair gene pool.  My dad naturally started to gray early (though he will say that I partially caused most of it) and my mom also started popping out grays at a pretty young age.  Needless to say - my Hawaiian and Filipino ancestry is known for early gray hair syndrome (or at least that's what I call it).  I do have pretty good hair - considering the amount of damage I have done to it in the last 15 years - I still have a ton of it left (crosses fingers and knocks on wood. lol).

Last year I came across this dye called Splat at Walgreens.  Let me start by saying that I truly was amazed at how awesome this product was.  My bright red lasted me 6 months and it stayed as vibrant as it was the first day I colored it with little to no maintenance.  As a busy mom - that was so awesome - I was completely in love.  But - that was after I had colored it because it stained everything.  Even if I had on a heavy coat of vaseline on my hair line, ears and everything else - it was brutally stained.  My bath tub took almost 2 weeks to get the stain out and my bathroom door still has some significant damage.  My bathroom looked like a murder was committed in there... it truly was terrible.  After all of that had disappeared, I was able to use the color for months without using any special products to keep the dye vibrant.  I thought... "OMG - this was seriously awesome!"  But it was also a downfall because when I had gotten tired of the red color, I couldn't do anything to get it out... it was like it was stuck in my hair follicle.  I tried to bleach it and the bleach just removed my brown - the red remained leaving me looking like a darn Banana Strawberry. lol Needless to say - I decided to just do an over color of brown and it worked out fine.   Below is the Splat that I used and how my hair color looked.
My Hair color from last year 2011.
Though this picture above doesn't show it's true color because it was taken in a dark area - the picture on the bottom kind of shows how bright it really was.
So - after I did the all over brown (pictured below) - after a few months I decided I missed my red hair again....
I wasn't about to go through the entire mess that I did with Splat.  Though I loved the color and how long it lasted - I surely did not want to go through that again.  So after a recommendation from my friend Mia, I went with Garnier Nutrisse Ultra Color.  What's cool about this color is that it is meant for dark colored hair - so it is supposed to be brighter on dark hair and the color shouldn't get faded out like normal over colors do.  The box cost me $10.99 which isn't that bad - but the problem was that I needed two.  Honestly - I barely made it to cover my entire head of hair with just the two boxes.  Note to self: I better pick up 3 bottles for the next time, and I better also really find some coupons for them. lol
Okay - I will admit - the photo above really truly makes me look like I murdered someone... but I promise, it's just dye. lol I'm pretty brutal when it comes to dying my hair... I'm usually in a rush or running after one or all of my 3 sons - so it can be a bit of a challenge to dye my hair effortlessly, or neatly for that matter. lol
My Current Hair Color
This photos (above) was taken the day after I dyed my hair. The color looked a gorgeous burgundy color.  Of course - it's been almost 2 weeks and with normal washing I have lost some color.  My hair is now a little more on the reddish / orange side - lighter than a true auburn.  It still looks pretty good but it is fading a little faster than I would like.  I could do a formal review on the product in a few weeks to a month to really discuss how it is coming along.

So - all in all, I am a hair color junkie... just like makeup - I'm addicted to coloring my hair.  In my opinion - it's a form of self expression... and besides - it's our body... we should embrace it in every which way possible.

Hope you liked my little hair journey. ;) I'll surely be posting more of these.

xoxo
Honey
9/24/2012 12:13:48 am

Well, this happens with every girl, so just 'take a chill pill'!

Reply
9/26/2012 10:43:10 pm

Great piece of writing, I really liked the way you highlighted some really important and significant points. Thanks so much, I appreciate your work.

Reply
8/28/2013 08:21:53 pm

Good post !!It is such an important topic and ignored by so many, even professionals. I thank you to help making people more aware of possible issues.

Reply
8/25/2013 01:20:42 am

Congratulations on having one of the most sophisticated blogs Ive come across in some time! Its just incredible how much you can take away from something simply because of how visually beautiful it is. You’ve put together a great blog space --layout. This is definitely a must-see blog!

Reply
8/25/2013 02:59:55 pm

Good post !!I’ve been reading numerous articles on this topic but found this one uniquely written. Thanks.

Reply
9/6/2013 03:28:06 pm

I am happy that I found your post while searching for informative posts. It is really informative and quality of the content is extraordinary...

Reply
10/7/2013 09:50:13 pm

The resource that you mentioned here is something that I have been looking from quite a time. And finally it ended with such a nice blog post. Don’t have words to thank you.

Reply



Leave a Reply.