I have been struggling with my weight for some time now, since I had my twins... not be cause I over eat - but because I find a really hard time making time to eat.  My problem is always that I'm on the run and never make it a priority to get me something to eat - especially when it comes to breakfast.  I'm lucky because my children are constantly eating and they love snacks - so I thought I would taper some of their snack foods and some foods that I love and try to incorporate it into breakfast for me.

Most of my mornings after taking my son to school consists of getting my work done for my businesses.  This means I need something that I can eat quickly and at times on the go.  Often times I have just a few seconds to get my meal and go - so here are a few suggestions that I will be working to incorporate into my day.  

Grab and Go Meals - just a few seconds required:

Fruit - A great source of fiber would be Apples.  Bananas have a great amount of potassium which will help to give you some of the energy that you may burn through the day.  What I love about fruit is that it is not only nutritious but delicious.  Who wouldn't want to start their day with something sweet and refreshing.  It's light on your tummy - so those of you that don't like heavy breakfast meals, this would be a great idea for you.  Just enough delish to keep you going through lunch.

Granola Bars - one of my favorite treats to sprinkle in Yogurt, but definitely a great "Grab it and Go" item.  Granola bars have a ton of Fiber from whole grains and have the carbs that you need to give you a great amount of energy.  If you can eat some form of carbohydrates in the morning for breakfast - that will definitely help to keep you alert and with a decent amount of energy to last you till lunch.  Make sure you find Granola bars that are lower in sugar, so that you are not feeding yourself a  heavy excess of sugar and end up crashing later in the day because of it.

Banana Nut Muffin - no all of these are healthy, but  many times the banana has the potassium you need to keep you going and they are delicious.  Using organic ingredients to create your muffin is great and if you are grabbing one from your local bakery or morning cafe, be sure to check on the sugar content.  

Oat bran muffins - these are not my favorite choice of muffin, I'll be honest. lol  But they have a ton of fiber and less fat than most of the naughty muffins that we love so much.  They also provide a huge amount of potassium and magnesium - which are great additives for our bodies.

Whole wheat bagel with peanut butter - let's face it, most houses have some form of peanut butter, almond butter or cashew butter at home.  Grab some whole grain bagels from your local bakery or grocer and you are set.  Whole wheat bagels have a larger content of fiber than your normal bagel and adding peanut butter is not only a great source of protein, but it is a natural form of fat that really helps to give you that added energy to keep you going through lunch, and it's healthy.

Got a couple of minutes to spare, try something that will require a little preparation: 

Smoothies....  If I have a few minutes to spare, I will be blending up some smoothies in my ninja.  There are some fruits that work well with any diet and will give you all the added benefits of a healthy meal on the go - with energy and great taste.  Oranges and Bananas are delicious.  Add in low0fat or non-fat yogurt or fat free milk, or even your favorite Almond or Coconut milk.  It's high in carbohydrates but will give you all the vitamins, calcium and minerals you need to get through the day.  Berries is another awesome treat and I love to buy frozen berries from my grocer and keep them handy in the freezer.  You really don't have to worry about them going bad in a couple of days and it will be awesome.  Berries are rich in antioxidants and by adding a little bit of fat free milk - yum.

Fruit Salad Bowl - If you have some time to prepare a little fruit salad - then do it.  This is another way to get some great health benefits and the sweet that we often crave after a few hours of being on the go.  Keep in mind that some fruits may make you retain water... so you definitely want to make sure to consume in moderation, otherwise, if you are on the go - this could affect your routine for the day.

Toaster Goodies - Some of my favorite and quick meals when I have no time in the morning are Toaster Treats.  Whole Grain waffles are a great source of fiber and they are awesome with a little bit of peanut butter or even a few pieces of fruit and a glass of O.J.

Do you have a little more time, say 10-15 minutes, these meals will be quick but fill you up and get you going on your day:


Cereal - one of my favorite meals for breakfast.  A good whole grain / whole wheat cereal will be a great addition to any morning.  It's healthy and paired with a low-fat or non-fat milk will give you all the calcium and energy you need for your day.  Oat flakes are a great source of fiber and have little to no sugar in them.  Grape nuts is chock full of whole grains and it's a popular choice to choose.  Adding some fruit to your Grape nuts is a great addition as well.  Toasted Oats Cereal, usually the little O's cereals like cheerios are a great source of whole grain and many times they have very little sugar in them.  Multigrain ones are great as well.

Oatmeal - something I eat very often, at least once a week.  These fast little meals give you all the comfort of a warm meal with all the awesome nutrients you need for your busy day.  They are high in fiber and great to eat before leaving the house on a cold winter day.

I hope you guys are able to make use of some of the ideas I shared here.  I struggle consistently to get any breakfast in and like I said, I have a hard time to eat through the day due to my busy schedule.  While I'm still working on perfecting my eating habits and actually get at least 4 -5 meals in my body a day - these little tips are on its way to helping me get my weight in check.

xoxo
Honey





Leave a Reply.