After I posted this pic on my instagram... I got so many compliments and requests for tutorial or recipe on how to create this.  The problem is... I truly do not measure when I'm cooking things like stews or soups... everything is done by taste and eyeballing... though I know that I really should take the time to jot down specifics... 
I always cook from the heart, so it can be a little difficult when it comes to recipes like this one.  But, I'm going to give you the ingredients and the general run down. :)
The first thing you will want to do when making Corned Beef is to ensure that you cook it long enough till it is tender.  If it is fresh corned beef and soaked in it's brine, you should already have it's seasoning that comes with it.  There are several ways to do this... You can 1.) cook it in a stew pot for hours until it's tender or 2.) you can use a crock pot and let it go for a few hours.  This meal is perfect for mothers who love crock pots because you can add all the veggies when you get home and pre cut everything.  

Once your corned beef is tender - you will want to have the following ingredients cut up and ready.  I like to cut them up stew bite size:  Potatoes, Carrots and Cabbage.  Add Potatoes and Carrots in the pot like you would a stew.  You can decide to add what ever flavoring you want at this point.  I will either add a table spoon of Dijon mustard (or hold off till the end when I'm plating), but I always season with Salt, garlic salt and pepper as well as a little Onion powder.  10 minutes before the dish is to be served, add in your cabbage.  I always hold off on cooking the cabbage with all of the ingredients till the end, because that way it will not upset your diners stomach.  Cabbage can tend to cause a lot of gas in some people, so this will really help in that.  You can also soak your cabbage in water for an hour to help as well.  You can decide to drain the liquid and leave it as something chunky if you want as well.  You will want to cook all of your veggies until they are fork tender and then serve.

I like to serve my corned beef in a bowl over hot white rice and then take a spoon of dijon mustard and plop that on the top of it all.  Whom ever is eating it can decide if they want to mix it in their entire meal (which is what I do) or use it as a little bit of dipping sauce.  Bon Appetite!

Supplies if cooking for 5 people:
  • 1 - Corned Beef Brisket.  If you are planning to make this during St. Patrick's Day - you will find these on sale.  I will usually buy between 2.50 and 3.00 lbs of brisket to feed 5 people.
  • 3-5 Small / MediumYukon Gold potatoes (this way you do not need to peel them)  
  • 2 - Small / Medium Red potatoes (it adds to the flavor and gives your dish a little bit of a bite)
  • 2 - Large carrots chopped or 1/2 of a bag of baby carrots (small bag) chopped
  • 1/2 head - Cabbage (chop this up so that it is bite size
  • Salt, Pepper and other flavors to taste
  • Dijon Mustard, I love to use Grey Poupon
  • White Rice (I normally cook about 3 cups of white rice for a party of 5-6 people)

I know this is not my usual type of recipes... but I figured I would share the best I could.  I hope you enjoy this and if you try it yourself... please be sure to let me know. :)  

Bon Appetite and Best Wishes from my kitchen to yours!



Leave a Reply.