Picture
Let me start off by saying that the original Steel Magnolias happens to be one of my favorite movies.  I have it on DVD and VHS (Yes, I know... old school).  Some of you might be wondering what a VHS is... lol.  I love Julia Roberts and she was a very awesome actress in the original.  The 1989 movie really helped to make Julia Roberts a star (besides Mystic Pizza, which of course is another favorite... I have that one on VHS too.)  I am determined to pull out my movie and watch the original again in the next coming weeks prior to the premiere of the remake... and will have my tissues in hand for all the tears that ALWAYS flood my face after watching it. lol

A few days ago I was watching Lifetime Movie Network (if time permits, I'm an LMN junkie) and the trailer/commercial came on talking about it.  Oh man... don't you know I got butterflies in my tummy.  First, I seen Queen Latifah - who happens to be one of my all time idols, not only because she is a plus sized beauty and rocking it - but because of her confidence.  Not to mention, the woman has turned around the Rap/Hip Hop industry as we know it - paving the way for some of my favorite Hip Hop / Rap Women Stars in history.  U.N.I.T.Y. still happens to be one of my favorite songs.  As if this wasn't enough - this remake showcases some of the most awesome cast members of my time... from my favorite T.V. Mom - Phylicia Rashad (otherwise known as Mrs. Huxtable), song bird Jill Scott and Alfre Woodard. I'm seriously looking forward to this Premier on October 7th.  It will be a wonderful take on a great movie and I can't wait to see how it all turns out.  Stay tuned to Lifetime for Trailers on the upcoming movie and cuddle up with your favorite cup of tea, coffee or cocoa and watch along with me.

xoxo
Honey

Image rights belong to Lifetime.  No copyright infringement intended.  All rights belong to Lifetime.com.  This image was used for Informational purposes only.

Nicole
9/14/2012 10:07:54 am

Girl.. I so am waiting for it too!! Love love the original and cant wait to see queen in action..
Th for the post;) awesomeness

Reply



Leave a Reply.