I remember exactly where I was on this day 12 years ago.  I was laying in bed sleeping when my husband woke me up to tell me the news.  He worked an early shift and was up at about 2:00am.  I remember thinking - "What is our World coming to?"

Even if I was in the comforts of my own home, the reality hit hard.  All I could do was sob and be sad for all of those that would be affected by this tragedy.  Each year on this day - like everyone else around our Nation, we mourn and grieve for those who gave their lives for such a senseless act.
On the day that Bin Laden was killed, I was in Washington D.C. and met with President Obama the following morning after it had all happened.   It was bitter sweet, as we arrived to the White House, the entire Nation and our Capital was on high alert.   I remember the White House gate being lined with many many people cheering for the death of this man.  It was definitely something I never thought I would experience in my lifetime, but there I was with my family, right in the middle of it.   A few days later, we went to the Pentagon and seen the Memorial they had there in person.  My heart just broke... so many lives, so many lives were affected by this.

Though we know never to take our lives or loved ones for granted, sometimes we just don't take the time to put those thoughts into action.  Use today and everyday to squeeze your loved ones tight and know that tomorrow is NEVER promised.  Make every moment memorable and make sure to fill it with love.  There is so much negativity in the World, but that one act of kindness or love that you give from your heart will be remembered always. 

9-11 was not just another day for us and we will remember it for the rest of our lives.  My heart is filled with so much emotion as I write this.  I send thoughts and prayers and love to those that were affected and those that have lost loved ones on that day.  You will NEVER BE FORGOTTEN.   REST IN LOVE!



Leave a Reply.