As you all know... I'm a curly haired, dyed haired beauty.  And, I am always on the search for some miracle product that will keep my hair nice and soft and full of bouncy curls.  When I first got site of Wen on an Infomercial about 2 years ago, I decided I would give it a try.  I purchased several different products from them, The Wen Lavender Cleansing Conditioner (pictured to the right), The Wen Sweet Almond Mint Cleansing Conditioner, and the Wen Sweet Almond Mint Anti-Frizz Styling Cream.  I paid roughly about $90 for a 90 day supply and by the time I received the products I was excited and had hoped that it was well worth it if it was actually going to work on my hair.   Boy, was I wrong!
Picture
Photo borrowed from Totalbeauty.com
The cleansing creams did not wash my hair or leave my hair soft - at all.  It seemed like my hair that I had worked so hard on bringing back moisture and shine seemed to get dryer and even lost some of its natural curl.  I felt like the cleansing conditioner didn't even clean my hair... which was not a good thing, considering I used cheap conditioner to cleanse my hair and it worked fine.  I assumed that maybe it was just this formulation or that maybe it didn't work well because my hair was out of sorts due to weather, so I put it on the side and waited to work with it again in a month or so.

I continued on to trying the Sweet Almond Mint products.  I really enjoyed the smell, but that was the only positive to it all.  The actual cleansing conditioner, again - made my hair dry and it lacked the moisture I would get from my Drug Store brand conditioner and/or shampoo.  I had to use a ton of product to cleanse my hair, being that it was so long and thick... which I did not like, because in one use, I just about used half of the bottle it seemed like.  I again, tried to be optimistic and said I would try it again and maybe it was just this instance.  So I tried the Sweet Almond Mint Anti-Frizz Styling  Cream, which I had hoped would at least tame some of my fly-aways and the dryness the conditioner left behind... but it really didn't do anything except make my hair kind of sticky.  Instead of taming my hair, it kind of made my hair seem a little stiff and oily looking.  I was so disappointed.

Because I know that some hair products may have odd reactions with your hair the first few times, I continued to use the products for a month - rotating the conditioners and using along side some of my favorite hair care products.  Nothing really changed from the first time I used them.  My hair felt dry and even seemed like it got frizzier than normal.  The smell was okay and didn't really smell bad at all - but honestly, that was the only thing I think really was appealing to me.  After use, not only did my hair feel dry, lack moisture and gained extra frizz, I still felt like my scalp and hair was dirty and it even had a greasy feel to it.  To top it all off... I noticed that I started to develop break outs near my hair line from using the products.  It was a disaster because I had worked so hard to get my skin back in balance again and here comes a product I thought would be worth the hype and it just was one negative after another.

I have been sitting on this review for about a year... and I know I should have done it sooner, and used my own photos... but I threw out the product and never looked back.  The thing is - I'm a huge Infomercial addict... I love to check out the new inventions and I'm always eager to try out something new... but this was the biggest Regret of a buy that I have done in a long time.  I vowed never to try any of their products again.  And - sadly, the host of the informercial is one of my favorite actresses, Alyssa Milano.  So I think that helped to get me excited about my purchase too... even if I know you can't always believe what you see on TV.

While looking for other reviews on Wen today (since I knew I was about to get going on writing mine) - I came across some on Totalbeauty.com.  I left the link for you to check out what the editors have to say about this product.   If you have tried out Wen, I would love to hear your experience with the product as well.  Leave in a comment or email me. :)  I'm chucking this product line up as a huge FAIL in my book.  If time permits, you may see a video from me regarding this. :)

Happy Hair Love to all of you!
xoxo
Honey
Moon
3/25/2013 11:49:08 am

I only liked the smell that was it to the one I used..This product made my hair hard in a way it was not so soft like they said on the commercials..

Reply
Kristen
3/25/2013 12:28:04 pm

Did you know there are actually 2 different versions of Wen? The one sold on infomercials and now at Sephora too (which I call the cheap version) and the good stuff which is sold on www.chazdean.com. The stuff Chaz sells on his website has higher quality ingredients and works much better. Compare the ingredients on the back of the bottles and you will see!

Reply
3/26/2013 03:44:07 pm

I have been using Wen for over a year and love it.. Shampoos always dried out my hair like straw before I added conditioner. My hair breakage was terrible... No more, I love Wen and am never going back to regular shampoo. I purchase mine through QVC.. the only drawback is that I have to shampoo daily where with shampoo I could skip a day, a small price to pay for the results I get..My friend who has very curly dry hair began using it at the same time I did and I saw her one day and her hair was like straw, I asked her about it and she had run out of Wen.. the difference was unbelievable and now I help make sure she doesn't run out again..

Reply
Honey
3/26/2013 05:09:40 pm

I'm so glad that it worked for you and your friend. I have tried it and it made my hair oily and terrible. I was disappointed, but nonetheless, I know that others have different type of hair types and it may work for them. :) Thank you for sharing.

Reply
Anonymous
5/4/2013 02:58:06 am

Boy! Are you guys wrong! I've used Wen for three solid years and my hair has NO SPLIT ENDS AT ALL! How do I know? I have a jewelers loop and looked at my ends under it and saw NONE. My hair has shine and bounce. Wen is truly tops. No product can beat it.

Reply
Honeygirlsworld
5/4/2013 09:11:55 am

thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us. It is not that we are wrong - but that we have different hair types, different hair chemistry in general and while a product may work for some, it does not mean it will not work for others. That is great that Wen worked for you. It did not work for me as well as others and I am aware that it has worked for other people. Again - this is my opinion - you are welcome to yours. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.