Ooh... a foodie post for my Work From Home Mommy Survival Guide, which I will shorten to call:  WFHM-Survival Guide.  I get asked all the time... how do you continue to cook a home cooked meal and still manage to work from home?  The fact is - honestly, I truly do not know how I do it... but I do know that by adding Kid Friendly meals that can be cooked in 30 minutes or less really does help.  And, of course - by Kid Friendly, that also means that from time to time, you can include your children in the prep work or cooking all together. 

My boys love to eat and they love to be involved in the food preparation process, especially my eldest.   Since he is now 9 years old, he is always eager to help out or even take charge in the kitchen from time to time.  Just the other day - he volunteered to make me a sandwich since I had been working so hard that day.  He made me a ham, turkey and roast beef sandwich with cheese on wheat toast.  Kids love to help out and by giving them some direction and a little bit of guidance in the kitchen, the options are endless. 
A favorite in our house is Pasta.  If you follow me on Instagram, you will see all the different pasta dishes I make.  What makes them so delish and the fact that they are healthier than most is that my pasta dishes or sauces I shall say, are all made from scratch and are homemade recipes.  If time is really in a crunch that day - I'll pull out my favorite Safeway Brand Pasta Sauce, which is not only affordable, but feeds a family of  5.   
Children can be picky, so I love to create fun and brightly colored foods so that they will eat them and enjoy them.
I love a great pasta... so to add some texture as well as color and flavor, I love to sneak in some things like Capers and Sundried tomatoes, mushrooms and even zucchini and other veggies.  The flavors come together well and the kids love the taste.  It also allows them to get accustomed to certain flavors so when you try to feed it to them on a regular basis... they will recognize the flavor as something they enjoy.  Even if cooking your meal (like pasta) from scratch, it literally can take the same amount of time as if you were doing so from the jar... and I love the fact that it gives my children a brighter and larger palette when it comes to food as well as the fact that you don't have as much or any preservatives when you are making your sauces from scratch.  You can easily get a pasta dish on the table in less than 30 minutes if you are prepared and of course, your little helper can help you stir the pot too.

I'll have more of these posts and videos as well coming up that will show you how I prep easy snacks and meals for my kids for days we are on the go or just hanging out at the park.  



Leave a Reply.