Let me start off by saying that as a busy mother - anything that I can make that allows me to be free and not spend hours in the kitchen is a plus for me. ;) I got this recipe off of one of my Favorite Recipe Sites and just had to share it with all of you.

Banana Cream Pie... in a bowl, anyone?
INGREDIENTS:
  • 1  cup Gold Medal® all-purpose flour
  • 1/4  cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2  cup firm butter or margarine
  • 1/2  cup peanuts
  • 1  box (4-serving size) banana instant pudding and pie filling mix
  • 2  cups cold milk
  • 3  ripe medium bananas, sliced
  • 1  container (8 oz) frozen whipped topping, thawed
Warning from Honey:  This recipe includes nuts - if you are allergic - just leave them out. :)



STEP 1 -
Heat oven to 400°F. In medium bowl, mix flour and brown sugar. Cut in butter, using pastry blender, until mixture is crumbly. Stir in peanuts. Press evenly on bottom of ungreased 9-inch square pan. Bake about 15 minutes or until light brown. Stir to break up. Cool completely, about 1 hour.

STEP 2 -
In large bowl, make pudding mix as directed on box, using 2 cups milk. In 2-quart serving bowl, layer half of the crumb mixture, pudding, bananas and whipped topping; repeat layers. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours. Top with additional peanuts if desired. Store in refrigerator.


Note from Honey:
While there are a few steps you need to take before getting this awesome dessert in your tummy - I think that it is definitely worth it.  Banana cream pie is one of those desserts where you know you want it... but you are particular with who makes it.  I don't know about you - but when I eat someone's banana cream pie - I know whether I will ever eat it again just by the first bite.  This way - it is easy but allows me to have a little more room to experiment and make it to my taste.  If you do use this recipe - let me know, I would love to know how it came out.

xoxo ~Honey



Photo Credit and Recipe go to: Bettycrocker.com
6/25/2012 08:24:38 pm

Nice recipe of the banana pie.I will definitely going to try it.Thanks.

Reply



Leave a Reply.