Have you heard of the Beauty Blogger Headquarters? This awesome Blog/site was started to bring together Beauty Bloggers so that they have a "One Stop Shop" to get all kinds of awesome advice, tips, tricks and so much more.  I heard about this awesome site from Beauty by Krystal, a fellow blogger who I follow and communicate a lot with on Facebook.  I've been reading through the task responses from other bloggers and it's very enjoyable to read them and get to know a little more about this bloggers on a personal level.  #Verycool
I decided I wanted to take part in November's Task... In the Beginning.  This will allow me to talk about how I got started and what inspired me.  Here are the questions for this month's task:

  • How long have you been blogging?

I started blogging in 2007.  So I've been blogging for just over 5 years.  

  • What/who inspired you to start blogging?

That is definitely a hard question to answer.  I started my blog in 2007 because I wanted to share my thoughts and opinions with the public... and because I am the only female in a house of males, so I needed someplace where I could talk girlie things.  But through the years - I have been inspired by Bloggers like: Kandee Johnson and Makeupgeek (Marlena), who while they are YouTube Gurus - they also blog about their life and I really enjoy reading Beauty & Lifestyle blogs.

  • Did you tell your family and friends about your blog? If so, what was their reaction? Are they supportive or "in the dark" about your blogging?

My husband knew I wanted to get into blogging and he supported me as he always does with all of my ventures.  Some of my other family members had thought it was a waste of time and effort... but they were also not very well versed in Technology and Social Media as they are now.  Many of my family members have since become open minded to the thought, especially since several of them actually read blogs often to learn about new ideas, DIYs, etc.

  • What goals or dreams did you have for your blog when you started? Have you accomplished them?

When I first started blogging - my first Goal was to get at least 5 people to read my blog, lol.  I'm glad that people read my blog often and happy that they find the information useful.  Another goal I wanted for my blog was to make it into a hub of advice, a go-to spot for everything about my life and my passions.  I think in this year - I have definitely accomplished that.  It took some time for me to really embrace the look and feel I wanted and I think that after years of trying all kinds of things out... I have finally accomplished it. (see the photo below of my first blog "Beauty by Honey" and what my blog looks like today.)  I'm very proud to say that I did accomplish both, my traffic has increased tremendously on my Blog now and I'm very happy with the look and feel my blog now possesses.  

  • If you could give your beginner-blogger-self one tip of advice, what would it be?

Blog about what ever it is you want to talk about.  When I started blogging - I was under the misconception that I could only talk about products that were sent to me by companies or I could only talk about High End, expensive things.  But - the fact of the matter is... when I decided I was going to "do me" and do my own type of blogging, that's when PR companies started to contact me to review products or talk about products for them.  My posts were definitely about things I loved and products I enjoyed that I purchased on my own, so people were loving to read about my thoughts and ideas.  If I knew that I could blog about my daily life and people would read it "just because", I would have started my blog off as a Lifestyle/Beauty Blog mix and would have relieved a lot of stress.  My blog is like my journal (now, at least)  and I wish I had started it off that way to begin with.

  • What is your favorite and least favorite thing about being a blogger?

My favorite thing about being a blogger is that I can really just keep things "real".  I don't have to censor myself for anyone... it's my blog and my life and I can choose to share or not to share what ever it is I'm thinking about at that time.  My blog allows me to be open and share my thoughts without worrying if they are right or wrong.  Now... seeing as I also do YouTube Videos and I'm a Vlogger - I would have to say that I don't really have a least favorite thing about Blogging.  In YouTube land - I deal with a lot of negativity and drama sometimes (even if I'm trying to steer clear of it), but on my blog - I really don't get that often... thank goodness.


  • What does your blog name mean? How did you decide on it?

My blog is named: Honeygirlsworld - because, that's exactly what it is.  A look into my life and my World.  My blog (while majority of my posts are beauty related) is a lifestyle blog of my life and all the interesting things it has to offer. :)  I have had 2 other names for my blogs in the time that I have been blogging:  Beauty by Honey and Destne146.  While they both are a reflection on myself, being a busy Mother of 3 boys (2 of which are twin toddlers) and a Work from Home Mom/Wife - I wanted to be able to really have a blog/website that would allow me to talk about a full range of things... and since it is my World and my Life - Honeygirlsworld was the best name I thought of so far. :)


Message from Honey:  On a personal note for anyone who is interested in blogging or contemplating starting a blog - I just want to say:  "Do It!"  While I love YouTube, making videos and editing them can be tedious and tiring.  I love that I can open my blog and just type what's on my mind... if it's not complete, that's okay - because I can always finish it another day.  It's difficult to start a video and stop it and continue 4 days later unless that is what your video calls for.  I find that no matter how many times I have been a public speaker or have spoken in front of a camera... I still get tongue twisted and it's hard to have to refilm or edit that part out.  Blogging and removing something you don't want is as easy as pressing "Backspace" or "delete".  Don't let anyone tell you can't blog - you'd be amazed at how many people will want to read about what you have to say. <3
Picture
Screen cap of my original Blog - Beauty by Honey



Leave a Reply.