Over the last month, my family has not been feeling very well.  We've been battling all types of sickness from cold, cough and congestion to flu like symptoms, ear infections and wheezing and asthma.   Just like with any time of the year, no matter how overcautious we are... the sick bug can strike us when we are not expecting it and always when we think that we have safe guarded our homes and everything we own.  Unfortunately, many people that we come into contact with daily can be carriers of such germs or they may have the bug germ but not even know it.  

I have been trying my best to stay away from germs for what seems to be all my life.  As a kid - I suffered from chronic asthma and bronchitis, so my parents taught me at a young age the importance of protecting against bacteria.   But, no matter how much you try and no matter how well you protect against germs, they can always sneak their way in.  Now that I have 3 children of my own... I do my best to safeguard against all of the nasty bugs that a child can get.  Here are a few tips I can provide in hopes that it may help you...

1.)  Be Prepared.  Parent's with young children think that their children do not understand about germs and keeping clean.  Teach your child that germies can be everywhere and on everything.  My children (by habit) wash their hands after using the bathroom (always) and after we go out in public or touch anything for that matter.  It's a good habit to teach your child that they must always wash their hands so that they do not pass germs or do not catch them.

2.)  Make sure that as the Flu & Cold Season comes around, that you are prepared with needed necessities just in case.  Of course, we all wish that we don't even catch the bug to begin with... but being ill prepared, especially during this time of the day - is definitely not a good idea.  Just before the season comes around, I already start checking my local stores like Walmart, Walgreens and CVS for deals on Pain Relievers, Cough Medicines, Decongestants, etc.  A favorite in my house is the Hylands Cold & Cough.  I purchase it in both  the Day Formula and Night.  I started using this brand when the twins were 2 years old, because it was the only brand available over-the-counter for children below the ages of 4 (or 6 for other medicines).
My children approve of the taste and it has a 100% all natural formula.  I also love that it works without making the kiddos sleepy and doesn't have any stimulant side effects like other medicines have been known to have.  It contains no Aspirin, Acetaminophen, Ibuprofen, Naproxen, Pseudoephedrine or Dextromethorphan which is also a huge plus.
I also love to stock up on Tylenol Melt aways... It's a medicine that the kids prefer in taste and it is fast acting.  It brings the boys' fevers down fairly quickly, which is a huge deal for us.  You can also get the Generic Store brand if you want.  I like buying these medicines a little before the cold/flu season starts because you will normally find your favorite brands in stock and normally at a reasonable price.  When the Cold/Flu season starts, it can often be out of stock, on back order or the cost may be inflated dramatically.  The other day - I had gone to the store to find that the boy's Hylands Medicine was $12.99 instead of it's normal $6.99 because we are in the middle of the Winter months when the cold and flu are at its peak.

3.)  Pack a Mommy's Sick Kit... Which will definitely come in handy.  It is great for on the go and you can just grab it while you are heading out of the house while the children are not well.  It is also great that you can easily transport your items from room to room without stuffing your hands full of stuff.  Here's some of the things you will see in my Mommy Sick Kit:
  • Thermometer (We have an Exergen Temporal Infrared Scanner.  It allows me to take the children's temperature without any harm to them.  I also suggest an ear thermometer, those work awesome as well.)
  • Back up Thermometer... I have one of the old school thermometers that go under the tongue, it's not ideal for children that are young, they hate it, but it works in case the other should not.
  • Medicines... put your medicines that you purchased in your little Mommy Sick Kit.  That way you are not running all over trying to get the medicine.
  • Baby Vapor Rub (and/or adult).  This has been an absolute lifesaver in our family.
  • Nasal aspirator - Children have a hard time to blow their nose... and after a while, you surely don't want to keep wiping your kiddos nose with tissue, it can get raw and irritated.
  • Hand Sanitizer - This is so important.  You are constantly taking care of yourself and your child and in many cases both of you are not feeling well.  This will help in keeping the germs from being transferred from person to person as you are caring for your household while they are not feeling well.
  • A Notebook or Notepad with a pen/pencil - This will really be a Godsend when you are busy taking care of your household and are administering different medications, treatments, etc.  I have a great memory... but when I'm also sick, I can't remember if I ate that day.  This will allow you to make notes of the dates, times and what you gave your child.  Also - it will allow you to make notes of how high their fever may have been or if they may have had an ache in their tummy or threw up.  This is a great tool to have if you have to work while daddy stays home and then you need to pick up the shift later.  It is also a great thing to have for adults who are not well.  Keep it handy in your Mommy Sick Kit and you will always have something to write important sick info down.
  • Inhaler - this is for those who have been prescribed it.  We have asthma in our house, my self and my husband have had asthma all of our lives.  My eldest, while has not yet been diagnosed with asthma, does have mild wheezing when he is sick, so the doctor has prescribed Albuterol in an inhaler form for him too.  Having them in one place will help in case of an emergency or if needed.
There are a few items that should be kept in an area where you can easily get to them and that have been very important in our Cold/Flu battling:
  • Nebulizer - If you have an asthmatic in the house, you know what this is.  Make sure to have this in an accessible area along with refills with the proper medicine available.
  • Humidifier and/or Steam Vapor - these are awesome, especially when you have children or your household has children with congestion, cough or having a lot of mucus. Definitely a great investment to have.
  • Ice packs - I put them in our freezer and then have zip lock bags and wash cloths on hand to wrap around the ice pack so that it is not extremely cold.  But in some of the worst cases, a cool compress or ice pack (that is wrapped well) will help to bring down a high temperature.

4.)  Preventing the passing of the germ in your house is key to getting it out of your house completely.  There are a few things that I do when we are sick to sterilize and sanitize our house:
  • Sterilize or Sanitize everything.  I have twins and since the day they were born, they shared everything... including their germs.  Because of this - it can be hard to keep germies at bay... but I do so by spraying everything down with Lysol or Anti-Bacterial Spray or I wash all of their items in VERY HOT water... dishes, cups, etc.  When they are sick I also do not use their normal sippy cups.  They will get a cup with a straw that can be disposed of.  If all else - pick up paper goods while sick.  It will help you recover and not be so over worked, but you can also throw them out after each use without burning your hands while cleaning.
  • Throw out your cleaning supplies when you are done with the sick.  I'm talking about your cleaning sponge or rags.  If you used it to clean anything while the house was sick, throw it out.  Or use disposable ones to clean so it is easy to get rid of.
  • Get rid of your tooth brushes.  I know you are supposed to get rid of your tooth brushes every 3 months, but regardless if it was brand new - just trash it.  It harbors so much germs and bacteria and when you are sick, it always lingers.
  • Scrub a dub dub the house... Lysol anti-bacterial sprays are a great friend this time of year, and always for that matter.  My husband and I go around and clean and sanitize all bedding, pillows, pillow cases, towels, toys and so much more.  Get the germs out of your house and keep the cold and flu from coming back because of a lingering germ.  Wiping everything down... even the refrigerator door handle will ensure that your house is sanitized and clean.   Toys, light switches, door handles... you name it, spray everything and wipe everything down.  
  • Let the Sunshine in:  In Hawaii, we have sun out pretty much all day long... but we take it for granted often.  After the kids or the house for that matter is sick, we make it a point to open up everything... windows, doors, etc. and let in the sunshine, the fresh air and more to help get all the germs out of the house.  It is a great way to give your house a fresh smell, but also - it will help to get the germs out and the fresh air in.
  • If you have sun out - get out doors.  Vitamin D is a huge part of what our body thrives on.  If you have some sun, get outdoors and soak it up.  I wouldn't suggest going out if it is windy... but if you have some sun, run out and enjoy it.  Sun heals the soul and it will definitely help give you some of the much needed vitamins your body will need while you are not feeling well.

At the end of the day - do what works and what you are comfortable with.  Remember to talk to your doctor and discuss these things prior to Cold/Flu season so you have an idea as to what you can and cannot do.  I am not a Physician, just a mom with Mommy experience.  I am not a Professional in this field and I'm only giving you advice that I have learned from my experiences as a mommy.  Please consult with your doctor prior to doing anything that includes medicine or treatment.   Wishing you all well this Cold/Flu season and hoping you all stay safe and healthy. 
Disclaimer:  I am not a medical professional... anything stated in this post is due to my own experience as a mother.  I am not liable and suggest that you consult with your medical doctor first before starting any regimen or treatment.



Leave a Reply.