Summer has definitely arrived and is in full swing.  When I go shopping - it's still a bit odd to see children in the grocery market during school hours and it's been nice having a "technical" Saturday and Sunday Days the last week.  lol  As a Stay at Home and Work from Home mom there is one thing I get asked ALL THE TIME and it is..."What do you do with your children to keep them busy during School breaks?  I am trying to balance out my day but still find that my hands are too tied to do my daily work and chores and spend time with the kids."
Picture
I'd be lying if I didn't say it was a challenge, but being  a parent in general is a challenge and we learn and grow along the way.  Same goes for time management.  Now that summer is here, I know that I want to be hitting the beach, the pool and the parks much more often.  Since I also have to get in a workout routine during the day, I also need to factor that in as well.   So here is what we do:
  • After waking up and breakfast... I sit down at my computer and answer emails, post specials or other items that I want to share on my social media networks and watch a few YouTube videos of my favorites.  We also find time to spend with my husband before he gets ready for work.  If I have orders come in for HoneyXO - this is also the time when I work on making jewelry or packaging orders that come in.  I do not like to work on orders at night, so I try to have them done before 1pm each day.
  • As lunch approaches I will have something made for the kiddos and myself - usually something very simple and easy to make but healthy.  The boys love finger foods so PB&J's are such a great alternative for lunch.  They also love Nutella sandwiches as well.  
  • As lunch comes to an end - my hubby starts work and leaves the house about 1:30pm on the days he works, so we say our good-byes and the boys and I plan for the rest of our day.  If we need to do any grocery shopping, errands or things outside of the house, we definitely plan to get ready and leave within 1/2 an hour of my husband leaving for work.  This allows us to get our tasks done and be back home in time for our other things on the list.
  • Since the sun sets late here in Hawaii, after 7pm this time of year and even later as Summer progresses, we schedule workout sessions just after dinner or a few hours before dinner.  Normally it's before dinner.  That way we can start on dinner and sit down to eat a healthy meal or comfort food meal before it is too late.    If we plan on walking as our workout for the day - we head to our local park about five in the afternoon so we are home well before the sun sets.
  • After dinner and everyone winds down - I slowly start working on my blog posts or editing my YouTube videos that I normally film on the days that my hubby is off.  If you do YouTube like I do - it is inevitable that your children will always be around when filming, so find a time when you know is quiet and then do your filming.  I also film several videos in one day when it comes to reviews, tutorials, etc. and edit them as I need.
  • Before I know it, my children are sleepy eyed and ready for bed.  I then get them in bed and spend another hour wrapping up my blog posts, etc. and hit the hay to be bright and bushy tailed the next day. 

Of course, everyone's schedule is definitely different and finding a balance between doing it all and still managing to spend time with your kiddos is not easy.  That schedule I shared is a typical day in our household, but honestly - there really are not typical days with children, especially twin toddlers.  I try as much as I can to keep on a schedule and should it not go my way, the words: "Go with the Flow" are turning into my new mantra.  Which, honestly, it super hard seeing as I am a planner by trade. lol  While that may be my schedule, I do switch it up to incorporate going to Fairs and events, etc. so it does change.  And since this time of the year is the busiest for my Photography business, I do have days where I have limited  fun time with the boys and have to make up for it another day in the week.  Since my work schedule can change dramatically I am constantly making it up as I go.    
Picture
Here are a few tips I use just in general to keep on top of things:
  • If you work from home or are a blogger like me, or both... I realize that you must keep to deadlines and get your work done.  My schedule works for me because my brain works well first thing in the morning but you can definitely switch that up to suit you.  If you like to write mid-day, I would suggest maybe getting the children something to eat and you as well and when lunch is done maybe an afternoon nap will suffice for them (if they like to nap).  My boys do not nap - so they are with me for my daily journeys.  If they do nap you can use that time to work or to clean up if need be.  I work in the morning but also late at night because it works for me.
  • Breakfast/Lunch and Dinner never has to be difficult.  I LOVE TO COOK and find that if we plan our meals a month or weeks in advance, I'm prepared and know exactly how long I need to spend on dinner, which allows me to work that into my daily schedule and be prepared ahead of time to allot me the correct amount of time needed.  You can find awesome calendars to plan meals online by searching "Meal Calendar" or you can use a calendar you already have.  Computers are also a great source for templates too.  
  • Getting your daily chores done can be a task all on your own - so if your children are old enough, enlist their help by giving them small tasks to complete around the house, like sweeping or straightening up.  My littles love to help out and while they may not realize it is a chore just yet, they are eager to help.
  • Going to the park or window shopping, etc. is not what you think.  Use this time to not only spend time with your children, but get your cardio in.  An hour of walking the mall and taking the kids for a stroll in the park is good cardio for your body and definitely can help you if you don't have a second to put into that work out of yours.  Let's face it - we are all busy and sometimes that 45 minute workout is not feasible.  But, if you already scheduled time with your kiddos and are going to the park, playground or even grocery shopping - don't feel bad about missing your exercise, because you are definitely getting it.
  • Involve your children in your life.  If you have been watching me on YouTube, I do vlogs a few times a week and my children are almost always involved.  While I am able to keep my YouTube video active and still manage to blog about my day as well, I also have memories I can consistently reflect back on.  My children enjoy watching themselves after my videos are edited and you have been able to not only include them in what you do, but document their lives as they grow.  And, when it comes to blog posts - I always get my children involved... my oldest even takes my photos for my Outfit Posts and the boys enjoy seeing that they are always talked about on my blog.  While you are putting your children out there in the World, the fact of the matter is - if you have Facebook, you're children are already on the internet.  With that said - yesterday's vlog is embedded below or can be watched here.
  • Last but not least - if you feel like you NEED to go with the flow or that is what you prefer, by all means... Do It!  Find a comfortable nitch that you can groove to.  And remember... your children grow up so fast - savor ever moment and make time to spend with them.  Also - married or in a relationship, be sure to have those date nights too - if you are like me, you will miss your kiddos tremendously, but it is essential to still rejuvenate. <3
I hope some of these tips are helpful.  While I know I can be a bit winded and very detailed, I wanted to make sure you had enough information.  I know I have been slacking on my Mommy Survival Guides and I apologize, but like I said in the post, sometimes life takes over and at the end of the day - spending time with my kiddos and husband is the most important thing for me... any day - every day!  Wishing you all a wonderful weekend while you are out spending time with your kiddos. 
xoxo
<3 Honey



Leave a Reply.