Picture
Ah... the NYX Nude on Nude Palette.  I'm sure you have heard many things about this palette after it's very popular release last year.  This palette was said by many to be a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked 1 and 2 palettes.  

I was pretty excited and intrigued when I was able to get my hands on one of them early last year.   At first impression... this palette is actually a great palette for anyone, whether beginner or experienced.  It sports 20 neutral type shades and 10 lip colors that were formulated to go with a variety of skin tones.  This palette is some what of a one stop shop for most and I have been enjoying the ease of use for travel.  My palette has gone on many vacations with me.

This palette (though sold out on NYX's website at this time) retails for $25.00.  You may be able to find it on sale or elsewhere from time to time.  Compared to some of their smaller palettes, it does cost a little more.  Each shadow is a pretty awesome size.  There is a lot of color included.  Pigmentation in my opinion is also really great.  Some of the colors may have fall out - but that really doesn't steer me away from the product and I still think it is well worth trying it out if you are into neutrals or looking for an All-in-One type of palette.  Each color is very blendable and soft like most of NYX eyeshadows so it made for easy application and blending.
Now - I'm sure you are wondering if there really is any comparison between the NYX palette and the Naked Palettes from UD.  Honestly, there are so many comparison videos and blog posts that are out there, I am not going to get into too much detail.  I also only own the Naked 1 Palette so I can't compare to N2.  but, I can say this... the colors are very similar in tone.  The biggest different between them besides the color difference is that the Naked Palette (as with most / all of Urban Decay Palettes/shadows) is very buttery and creamy.  If you have tried this palette, you will know what I am talking about.  The pigmentation of the Naked palette is also by far brighter, bolder and stronger in pigment than that of the Nude on Nude.  The Nude on Nude palette has a soft/silky texture and I like that it is pigmented.  I also love that you have a good range of matte, satin and shimmer type shades.  With 20 shades, you truly have a lot to choose from.
The lipstick/lip colors are very moisturizing - but they are more like glosses than lipsticks.  They are kind of sheer as well which makes it difficult to show up on my lips sometimes.  I do love the range of colors but it really is more for just an every day or quick lip look.  The pigmentation is not necessarily buildable on my lips as I can apply several coats but not get much more of a color payoff then I had to begin with.  It is not very sticky, which I love, and I think that all in all - it's still a pretty okay addition to this palette.  If I had to choose - I could do without the lip colors.  They are not necessarily a bad thing, I just think that they are not something I can utilize often, especially since I'm more of a lipstick gal.

The swatches above show each color in the lip collection.  The colors go from top to bottom - left to right.   In the palette they are Left to Right in comparison to my swatches. 
Eye Shadow Swatches... from Left to Right, Top to bottom.
Above: First Five colors on the top row of palette
Above: First Five colors on the bottom row of palette
Above: Second Set of Five colors on top row of palette.
Above: 2nd Set of Five colors on bottom row of palette.
The Eyeshadow shades were all swatched on my bare arm, no primer or base.  I tried to take them in natural lighting, though there was a funny cast in one of them and the camera would not let me take the photo without flash on some of them.  As you can see from the swatches... the eye shadows are pigmented.  A few of the lighter shades had some difficulty showing up on my skin, but it is those colors I like to use as a natural looking high light on my brow bone.  
Here are some swatches I took of my Naked 1 Palette a year or so ago.  As you can see, while they do differ in texture and hue... you can easily recreate a look done with the Naked 1 with the NYX Nude on Nude Palette.  My Swatches of my Naked1 palette are actually done over primer/base, so it does show up much more... though, honestly - the NYX Palette would definitely show up much more 
vibrantly if also done over a base or primer.  The colors are so similar... it would be difficult to tell if you used one or the other.  I love that the NYX palette offers 20 different colors as well as lippies in comparison to the Naked Palettes.  The looks you can get are absolutely endless with the Nude on Nude and it really is a great palette to use while traveling.  My palette has been from Hawaii to Washington DC and many states in between.   It travels well, it's compact enough to travel with and it really is an All-in-One and go-to type palette.  

As I mentioned previously in this post - Urban Decay's Naked Palettes do have a little bit of a different texture than that of the Nude on Nude.  The downside to that... you may need to pack your color on a little more, as UD's Palettes have a metallic buttery finish that will give instant payoff with little work.  The Nude on Nude palette however... still has a buttery feel, very smooth and easily blended... but you may need to pack your colors on so that you eliminate that chalky fall out you may get with some shadows.  At the end of the day though... if I had to choose either or, knowing what each of them do... I would not hesitate to choose the NYX palette.  Because it doesn't have that extra soft metallic finish, it doesn't easily break or chip off in the pan as Urban Decay shadows can do... which means, traveling can be a little tricky... I always put my UD palette in a zip lock bag just in case.  Of course, the price different is huge as well...  the NYX palette offers just a bit more with color selection as well as lippies... and because of the type of shadows, it has traveled well.  I do have a few cons... but nonetheless, it won't deter me from buying this product again should I ever need to replace it.  Surely a must have in any kit or collection - especially if you love neutrals. :)
FTC Disclaimer:  The NYX Nude on Nude Palette was sent to me as a Gift from NYX cosmetics.  I am in no way affiliated with NYX or have been paid to provide this review and/or comparison.  The Urban Decay Naked Palette that was also discussed was purchased by me with my own money.  My opinions and thoughts are my own and 100% honest and unbiased.  Images are taken by me as well as a few of the NYX Nude on Nude palette were used from the NYX site.  I only claim copyright on the images I took and do not for the others.  Copyright infringement not intended, the images that are not mine, that are used are for informational purposes only.



Leave a Reply.