A few days ago... I posted this on my Facebook Page, since I am doing everything in my power to take a stand against Bullying: 

"I had such a sad "bullying" story shared with me today and I've been wondering if I am going to share it or not and have decided to after getting approval from the person who told it to me. This lovely lady is a part of one of the Makeup Artist Groups here on Facebook and she is fairly new at doing makeup. She posted a picture in the group of the makeup she did on herself in hopes to get "constructive criticism and ideas on how she could improve." Her photo was bashed left and right and instead of people telling her how she could do something or suggest ideas, people called her ugly, said she had no business doing makeup and that her cut crease was terrible. She was also told that she could not make it in the makeup industry unless she knew how to do a proper cut crease and that she needed to learn how to blend properly, saying that her work was "Whack!". This poor lady didn't say she wanted to be in the industry - she just asked for some help. 

As a working Makeup Artist who is Certified, let me start off by saying that YOU DO NOT NEED TO KNOW HOW TO DO A CUT CREASE IN ORDER TO BE IN THE INDUSTRY. Also - Why would you tear someone to pieces when she is asking for help. Suggestions could have been made - sending her in the direction that would help her learn better techniques. Furthermore, calling someone ugly and saying her work is terrible is yet another form of bullying. It hurts a person's feelings. Everyone needs to start somewhere and learn by example and by being taught. This story literally brought me to tears. No one should have to go through that. We are all here to network, not tear each other down."


Even after typing it all out and going over it in my head again and again - it still does not sit well with me or my heart.  As I mentioned before... bullying is turning into a new type of plague... taking over in large heaps and raising havoc among everyone involved.  I work so hard to teach my children that this is not only uncalled for, not needed, morally wrong but that it hurts.  I'm so lucky to have wonderful children and my eldest son truly is a great leader and teacher to his older brothers.

Bullying in any form is wrong - whether in person or via the internet.  Those of you that have followed my sites for a while know that I have been consistently bullied by a lady who owns a pretty popular Indie Cosmetic Company.  At one time, we were friends... but because of a falling out - she has done anything to break my spirit and make me feel like I'm worthless.   She has sent her bully friends and family members to my page consistently to torment me and comment on my photos and she continues to harass me by stealing designs that I have worked so hard to create and make them herself, even if I have already copyrighted them.   And, after a year... she still manages to torment and harass me by doing it herself or by sending others to aid in the harassment.  But, she has no choice but to keep doing it... because through it all, as much as it can irritate me, I have a strong enough will to know that what I do is wonderful and I am a great person, she has not and will not ever get the best of me.  But, I'm also lucky because I have a family support system that encourages and supports me, because they know my worth - not because they are intimidated to do so.  I have an awesome Husband and sons. <3

In short... I know I got into more detail than I wanted to...  bullying is not easily dealt with, especially if you are the one being bullied.  Know that there are people out there that love you and that support you.  Hurtful words are mean and crude, they do exactly as they are supposed to do - hurt you.  But, if you do your best to ignore it or tell someone you are being bullied, maybe that can make a difference.  Just know - that if you are reading this and you are experiencing Bullying and need someone to talk to - while I may not know you, I am here.  There are support groups that are here as well.  DON'T EVER THINK THAT YOU DESERVE TO BE BULLIED.  Know your worth... know that you are wonderful and awesome and if all else fails, know that you have a friend in me should you ever need it.  Take a stand against bullying and promise to not take part in it and promise to not let it happen.  Together, we can all make a difference!

xoxo
<3 ~Honey



Leave a Reply.