I always get asked to share my recipes that I make for dinner and I normally post them frequently, but have been so busy this past month, I have kind of flaked in that department.  So, here I am playing catch up. :)  Tonight's dinner was something I had been craving for a while now.  I took inspiration from one of my favorite Hole in the Wall eateries called: Honokowai Okazuya.  They make a similar dish there... though, I must admit - I will not be eating there for a while... because mine tasted SOOOOOO.... much better! lol  When I cook, I normally eye ball or just guesstimate everything I put in it... so I am going to give you the basic ingredients needed and how to put it together... but the amounts will be something you may have to try out and test drive yourself.  I apologize, I should really start measuring my ingredients, but I always cook and create on a whim. 

Ingredients:
  • Ono or any white fish like Halibut or Mahi Mahi (Ono - Wahoo, Mahi Mahi - Dorado, or even Red Snapper)
  • Butter - about 2 blocks
  • White Wine, I like to use Chardonnay
  • Sundried tomatoes - I like to get the one that is dried in sun and already has italian herbs in the oil
  • white cap mushrooms
  • capers
  • zucchini
  • white rice or your choice of starch
  • Garlic Salt, Salt and Pepper (to taste) 
  • 1 whole lemon

How to:
  1. Get your starch cooking - if you are making white rice, get it cooking.  If you are making pasta, you can start getting your water ready to boil.
  2. Start by pouring your wine into a sauteed pan (make sure it is deep enough).  Cook on Medium heat until it reduces, usually till there is half the amount of liquid as when you started.
  3. While the win is reducing - Season your fish then start pan frying your White Fish.  You can add some EVOO and use this as your lubricant to cook the fish.  Do not mess with it or it will flake and break apart - your fish will let you know when it is ready to be flipped.
  4. Add cold butter to your wine a little at a time.  I normally cut in 1/4 of a cup sizes and slowly add in the butter... whisking/stirring it in so that it thickens.
  5. Add your capers and sundried tomatoes and then season your sauce with garlic salt or salt and pepper (to taste).
  6. In a separate pan (a small one is okay) start heating up a little butter or some EVOO (for your stir fry veggies).  Cut up your vegetables julian style or how ever you would like.  Add the cut veggies (mushrooms/zucchini) to the pan and stir fry for just a few minutes until tender.  Remove from stove.
  7. As your sauce starts to thicken, cut your lemon in half and squeeze the juice into your sauce.  You can also decide to hold off on the lemon and squeeze it over your plated dish.
  8. You can start plating by first adding your starch and then the stir fry veggies.  Add your fish and then pour the sauce over your fish and some onto your starch if you would like. 

Dinner is Served.  You can go ahead and pair this dish with an awesome glass of white wine or what ever dessert you would like.  This dish is super easy to make and something like this would be sold for over $20 in a restaurant here in Hawaii.  Now you can make it all yourself.  I love creating new recipes and this recipe is very similar to my pasta shrimp scampi one, so you can easily take this sauce as it is versatile and use it in combination with other seafood dishes.  It taste great with chicken too.

Happy Eating and Enjoy!
Disclaimer:  This recipe is one I have created and tried on my own many times.  You are welcome to omit the alcohol from the recipe if you would like.  Also - my little verbiage about having a glass of white wine with dinner of course is a suggestion for adults of legal drinking age.  Please drink responsibly.  If you do use this recipe or share on your site/blog, social media, please credit this recipe and image back to me.  Thank you! :) xo Honey



Leave a Reply.