Life is a path of chocolates... sometimes sweet, sometimes bitter sweet... but always worth the journey. ~Honey
It still amazes me... no matter how many times i have experienced it... that life will change in a heartbeat - whether you are ready for it or not.  Sometimes, it's that one instant - that one moment in time, when something doesn't go your way or something quite significant happens and you realize... "Hey, I have to do something different!"  I guess you could say that last week I experienced a lot of those "ah ha" moments... where my eyes opened and my mind did a double take, realizing that the path in life that I am taking is not the right box of chocolates.

Dear Monday... Hi!  Welcome Back!  Why have you arrived so swiftly? I have only had a second to blink and here you are again.  Please take your time coming back again, I enjoy my weekends and I really am not so fond of you. 

To My Dear Heart...  You never cease to fail me.  When I have that uneasy feeling inside, I know it's because my heart is not truly at ease.  I need to learn and remember to listen to you, my heart... you will never steer me wrong.

To My Children, My Hearts... This week, someone told me (in so many words) that they found it hard to believe that I don't need "Me" time or a break.  I took that offensively and just about screamed at the top of my lungs.  How is that hard to believe?  I spend 24 hours with all of you (with exception to Ka'eo - who goes to school for 6 out of those 24 hours).  While you all can be handful and I can be exhausted (mostly because of other people I deal with daily), I would never trade my time with my boys for "me" time ever... Maybe I'm weird, or just an unusual mom... maybe it's because I do have my me time... while still hanging out with all of you... or maybe it's because my entire existence exists because of you and your father, and without you - My life ceases to exist.  Funny thing is, I'm the only girl/woman in the house, but I still rather paint my toe nails while you sit down and play toys and we sing songs together... or film my videos with little voices in the background.  Why?  Because that one day... when I may all of a sudden decide that I may need to go out and get a pedicure or have my nails done or something else, and leave you with someone to watch you, if something should ever happen to you... I couldn't go on living any longer.  If something should happen to me... you may not ever know how much your mommy loved you so.  Yes, we all need time to ourselves from time to time, I'm sure... but I enjoy my time with all of you.

To My Wonderful Husband, the Love of my Life... this past week has put a lot of different things in perspective for me.  I hate that we spend so much time away from one another... that our work has us running around like headless chickens and our together time is always sacrificed for other things.  We need to make more time for one another... I see a Spa day in our future soon. :D I love you!  thank you for always believing in me and for supporting me endlessly.  Thank you for being my shoulder to cry on and most importantly, thank you for loving me!

To this stupid congestion, cold and cough...  Seriously, you need to get to steppin.  I'm so tired of being sick, of coughing and of my asthma being so ridiculous since you've been around.  I'm tired of feeling so worn down.  And, most importantly - I'm tired of seeing my family so miserable because you just won't get out of our house... all the cleaning, sterilizing and spraying antibacterial stuff is not working.  So I ask you nicely - get out of my house and away from my family. Thank you!

Dear Me... I don't need to remind you that you are a Phenomenal Woman... but I know that sometimes women just need to hear it.  This past week was a challenge, this week will be one as well.  So pace your self... take a deep breath and remember that you are AWESOME!  At the end of the day, you are the one that holds the key to your Dreams and your Destiny... Don't Let it Go!

Don't Let Anyone Dull Your Sparkle!
3/8/2013 10:54:52 pm

This is beautiful. When my kids were growing up, I didn't see the need for "me" time either. Yes, I got my nails and/or hair done, but if a kid wanted to tag along, they were more than welcome. Typically, only the little lady would take me up with on my invite, but Dad was always doing cool stuff at home. When I took them out of public school and started homeschooling, it was just me and them all day, learning and playing, enjoying life.

I find it funny that when I bowed to pressure, allowing my daughter to attend high school, it changed our relationship and we became less close. My son made the choice to continue homeschooling; and I find we have a closer bond. I wish I had stood my ground. Sometimes it hurts how far apart we've become (even though we're currently living in the same house).

Enjoy your own version of "me" time and know that there are those of us out here who totally understand.

Reply



Leave a Reply.