Picture
While living in Hawaii is definitely paradise, summer month's bring very humid and hot days.   Being a busy mom often means that for most of the summer you will catch me in a tank top or a tee to keep cool while running around with the kiddos.  Today - my sons and I met my sister Harmony (who was my photographer by the way) and we did a little window shopping at the local Shopping Mall and had an early dinner.  While wearing shorts and a tank was definitely ideal - I wanted to be comfortable but still a little dressy, so I decided I was going to use one of my favorite maxi dresses.  I don't use blue in this shade often - or blue in general unless it's denim, so it was a treat to pull this from the closet and give it a little "out of the house" time. ;)
Picture
Picture
My blue maxi dress is a strapless number I picked from Old Navy for under $30.00.  It is not only comfortable but very very cool and that's the reason why I chose to wear it on such a hot day.  Our weather sported a very warm 93 Degrees today and this was a great alternative to wearing shorts.  It's flows well in the wind and while it is pretty long, I managed to not trip on it at all.
Picture
My gorgeous Statement Necklace is from Lily Wang on ShopLately.  It boasts four different shades of blue from a turquoise type blue to a baby blue.  These blue ribbons are woven into a gold chain and create a very bold statement and detailing.   This necklace was beyond affordable... less than $15.00 and definitely a great buy for something sturdy, made well and definitely beauitful.
Picture
Picture
I opted for a "less is more" type of makeup look today.  Which meant that I was going to rock out mascara and some lip balm and call it a full face.  If you have been following me a while - you know that I normally go for a very simple look during the summer months - usually just mascara/lip balm or lipstick - as I did today... or a soft everyday neutral look or bronze smokey.  My goal for the simplicity is that I am able to jump into the ocean for a quick swim or stop at a pond, river or pool in a heartbeat and take a quick dip.  It's so hot and I live here in paradise... I definitely want to make use and take advantage of it.
Picture
Picture
My denim vest is from Forever21.  I really loved the little worn details on it and it was super affordable, less than $20.  It's a great addition when I'm wearing a dress like this that is strapless because it will help to conceal and cover me up if I feel uncomfortable.  
Picture
For my watch today I am using my Invicta Gold and Silver Divers Watch, a gift from my hubby.  It's one of my favorites and I find that I reach and grab for it most often... unless of course, I just didn't take it off. lol

For my ring today I am using my 14K Gold Tahitian Pearl and Plumeria Ring that my husband bought for me several years ago.  It is a favorite of mine and I love pulling it out of my jewelry box and using it from time to time.  Of course on my left hand are my wedding rings.

For My bracelets today I am using 3 of my favorites:  
Script LOVE bangle from Shoplately
White and Silver Woven bracelet with Gold embellishments from HoneyXO
White Faux Pearl beaded stretch bracelet from HoneyXO

For my earrings today I have on my Diamond Studs in my second holes - those never come out, they were a wedding gift from my husband... I sleep in them and they only come out to get cleaned.  For my main holes I have my 14K Gold Plumeria stud earrings, also a gift from my husband.
Picture
Picture
Since it was super duper hot today, wearing my hair down was definitely not an option and since I was a little strapped for time, I threw my hair up in a messy high bun and left it like that.  The great thing about my hair is that I don't need any hair ties or pins, it will stay in that bun after I twist it up for hours and even over night.

Of course, wearing sandals was just too much today as well - so I opted for my Old Navy Gold Glittery Jelly flip flops... comfortable, easy to walk in and I can run after my kiddos without problem.

For my sunglasses/shades today I am using my Maui Jims with tortoise shell and Amber Lenses.  It is a favorite of mine that I've had for a couple of years and I turn to them often during the summer months to help with the Glare while I'm driving.
Picture
It was a very relaxed and fun day today.  I'm so happy summer is here and I'm really enjoying spending time with my boys.  It's also nice to have my little sister Harmony come and cruise with us too - we always have lots of fun. I hope you guys enjoyed today's outfit of the day.  Have a wonderful Week!
xoxo
Honey
8/7/2013 03:40:02 am

Tortoise shell lenses sounds strange, never heard before and there no close picture of your eyes to see them closely. I am curious to see how they actually look.

Reply



Leave a Reply.