I took the photo on the left yesterday (5/19/13).  I got this black and red dress for Mother's Day from my Mommy and Daddy.  My mom said that she could only get it in XL and that she wasn't sure if it would fit.  I certainly wasn't sure if it would fit either so I didn't try it on for at least a week and a half - worried that I would be discouraged because it was 2 sizes smaller than what I would normally wear.  

The Back story: For a while now, though I am a 2x in size, when it came to dresses, I had been buying a 3x so it would fit right and not hug my curves in all the wrong ways.  A few weeks ago I went shopping at Old Navy and noticed that I could actually fit in an XL and in some dresses, a Large... but I just assumed that it was a great week to go shopping and in fact haven't even used those dresses yet, worried that they did not fit.
So - I decided yesterday I would try on the Red/Black dress because I had gone out earlier in the day and noticed that my shorts that are usually snug were way too big for me.  I had to use a belt and even tightened my belt an extra notch (hole) to make it fit right.  I was super excited to come home and try on the red/black dress to see if it fit.   To my surprise and happiness the dress not only fit but it was comfortable.  I could bend and move in it without worry and while it hugged my curves, I looked really good in it.  #YAYME!
I took the photo on the left (salmon/white) on Easter Sunday, March 31, 2013.   The photo on the Right (black/white) was taken on 5/15/13.  While some may argue that they are two different colors and black is slimmer than any other color, you can totally tell by the shape of my hips that my body is starting to have more definition.  Both dresses are size 2x - though, when I took the photo of the Black and White one a few days ago - I had to tighten my shoulder straps so that it would fit properly.   The dress also hung on me a lot better than the Salmon colored one which was pretty fitted the first time I actually wore it (in the photo pictured on the left).  

Regardless of anyone's opinion - the fact is that I'm down 11 lbs, 2 dress sizes and also down 1.5 pant sizes... super proud that I need a belt or my pants are too loose.  Again... #YAYME!  It's not an easy journey - but definitely one I am working towards and one I am proud I am taking.  If you decide to join me... use hastag #getfitwithhoney and lets have some fun together.

xoxo
Honey



Leave a Reply.